Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Problem with X and Z axis

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Jay Lytle, Apr 18, 2018.

  1. Jay Lytle

    Jay Lytle Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Okay, I have done as much to this as I can. I am not sure what is going on with this.

    Machine description:
    Using standard Open Builds parts, nothing custom made.
    1000x1000 mm CBeam contruction.
    Lead screw with stepper motor and a XPro from Spark Concepts
    Software is combination of ESTLCam and UGS

    When initially built, everything was good, I could use UGS to control the machine with the arrow keys on my keyboard, and it would move correctly. I could hold down the arrow keys and it would move along the chosen axis just fine.

    Problem description:
    I had a problem with the ESTLCam software where I had incorrectly chosen standard instead of metric, so it sent the machine on a wild chase, and it hung on the stock for a bit before I could shut it down. Now when I hold down the arrow key for the X Axis, it will spin for a bit and then hang like it is binding. Y Axis works fine, and Z Axis does the same thing as X Axis. Video is attached to show X vs Y axis operation.

    Can someone please give some pointers as to what to check/adjust/replace? THANK YOU!
     
  2. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    420
    click the 'use metric' tick box in UGS a few times and maybe restart UGS after a click so make sure that UGS and GRBL agree on which mode is active..

    Controllers understand both imperial and metric but have to be told which one to expect.
    Seems to me your controller has become confused as to what mode it is supposed to be in and is expecting inches but getting mm and thus travelling too far.

    G20 tells the controller that all the following dimensions are in inches. (and feedrate is inches/min)
    G21 tells it to expect millimeters. (and feedrate is in mm/min)

    Make sure that Estlcam outputs a G20 or G21 at the top of EVERY file it generates and that the code corresponds to the mode selected.
    Same with any other Gcode generator you use, the code must ALWAYS define the mode.

    Thus you will see at the top of every file generated from SketchUcam a line like
    G90 G21 G49 G17 F2540
    which is defining the modes for the controller.
    • G90 : use absolute dimensions, the alternate is G91 for relative dims
    • G21 : use metric
    • G49 : do not use cutter length offset
    • G17 : set the active plane to XY which affects how circles are drawn
    • F2540 : set the basic feedrate in mm/min
    These modes are 'modal' which means that once set the controller remembers them, often through reboots as well.
    That is why every file must define the modes is needs to function safely.
     
    Jay Lytle and GrayUK like this.
  3. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    199
    Hi Jay, I don't see the video?
     
  4. Jay Lytle

    Jay Lytle Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    That's odd. I'll retry uploading the file tonight when I get home.

    Thank yo u!
     
  5. Jay Lytle

    Jay Lytle Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4

    I will check the g-code file tonight when I get back to the house, and make sure it has everything required.

    Thank you!
    Jay Lytle
     
  6. Jay Lytle

    Jay Lytle Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4

    This is what is at the top of my g-code file:
    (60 deg vgrv)
    G21
    G90
    G94
    M03 S24000
    G00 Z5.0000

    Thank you!
    Jay Lytle
     
  7. Jay Lytle

    Jay Lytle Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trying the upload again
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Jay Lytle

    Jay Lytle Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    I think I have the file uploaded now.

    Thank you!
     
  9. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    199
    Ok, from the video, looks like current is too low or speed is too high... unless you have your wheels (eccentrics) way tight.
    Good luck
     
    Jay Lytle likes this.
  10. Jay Lytle

    Jay Lytle Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'll check the tightness of the wheels again. The speed is me holding down the arrow key so however fast the controller can accept the commands from UGS. Maybe that is the problem. Just don't want it to do that in the middle of a work piece.

    Thank you!
    Jay Lytle
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice