Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Power Supply

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Dale Y, Feb 8, 2017.

  1. Dale Y

    Dale Y Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok. time to consider the electronics. I am looking at the CNC Xpro V3, with 4 NEMA23 motors. I also am looking at the 400w spindle from Spark Concepts. Now the board has a max of 24v, but the spindle is suggested to use 48 v for full range of speed. I am thinking I am looking for2 different power supplies, unless someone here has a better idea.
     
  2. Jonathon Duerig

    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    117
    This is exactly what I do. I've got one power supply for the steppers/board. The other power supply controls my spindle.
     
  3. Dale Y

    Dale Y Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    Jonathon, you have the spindle from Spark Concepts. Does that mount fit right up to the beams from Open
    Builds, or do you need an adapter plate?
     
  4. Jonathon Duerig

    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    117
    I use the 300W 'quiet cut spindle' from Inventables with its mounting block. Looking at Spark Concepts, these seem very similar if not identical. If they are the same, then it can mount one way but not the other.

    The spacing between the two holes from side to side is 70mm. The spacing up and down is 20mm. So if you slide it perpendicular to a 20x40 or larger beam, it will mount just fine. But it won't mount parallel to a C-beam. If you use corner brackets on a 20x40 beam, then it can act as a kind of adapter plate.

    -D
     
  5. Jonathon Duerig

    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    117
  6. Dale Y

    Dale Y Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    I like what you did. The 20x40 beam is a good idea, I think I will use it. Now, I just need to wait till they get some on stock.
     
  7. Dale Y

    Dale Y Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    Jonathon, I got my spindle, but it comes with 6mm screws. Yours too? what did you use in the slot to tighten it up?
     
  8. Jonathon Duerig

    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    117
    Mine came with 6mm screws as well. I just replaced them with M5 screws of the same length and didn't pay any mind to the small gap in the screw holes. I haven't noticed any issues doing this (I think other parts of my machine flex well before the force necessary to overcome the compression).

    However, if you are cutting harder materials or are otherwise concerned about the gap, you might try using a short section of heat shrink tubing on the part of the screw which will go through the hole. Try it on one screw as a test to see if the screw still fits in the hole. If it works, do it on all 4 screws and then you will have another guard against movement in the mount.

    -D
     
    Giarc likes this.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The OpenBuilds Team is dedicated helping you to Dream it - Build it - Share it! Collaborate on our forums and be sure to visit the Part Store for all your Maker needs.


    [email protected]

  • Like us on Facebook

  • Support Open Source FairShare Program!

    OpenBuilds FairShare Give Back Program provides resources to Open Source projects, developers and schools around the world. Invest in your future by helping others develop their future.

    Donate to Open Source