Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Ox max build with mods

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Jonny Norris, Aug 17, 2014.

1. Jonny Norris

Jonny Norris Well-Known
    Builder

Hi there, here is some pics of my open build ox max 1500 x 1500 router build. Now I'm no expert, in fact this is the first router I have built and also my first post here, but I would like to show you some of the modifications and decisions I made during the build, and welcome feedback and suggestions.

The build so far: vacuum table not yet fitted.

[​IMG]

Purchased from robocutters.co.uk

Firstly I decided to make the stand out of wood over using Ali profiles as I felt it would be more rigid and plus a lot cheaper. the stand out of 80 x 40 pine and cost around £50 to make. Very pleased with the outcome, is super rigid and not too heavy. I will be adding a few more braces through the middle of stand to help support bed.

As you can see i have not used any profiles through the middle of the frame, as i cannot see that it would add any benefit to the rigidity, as all the rigidity is in the stand. plus dropping a tight square vacuum table inside the frame will work to the same effect i feel. personally if i were trying to strengthen the frame using profiles i would want them at 45 degree angles.. the two profiles supplied with the kit as cross braces i really dont think would strengthen a frame of this size, maybe 4 or more might. but i would strongly recommend fixing to a rigid stand instead, plus save yourself the added expense.

[​IMG]

Modifications:

The first modification I made was to the z gantry lead screw bottom plate, the cad model I received with the kit showed the two bottom plates doubled up to make a single plate with the flanged bearing for lead screw placed in from the top, however I found that the bearing would try to ride its way up the lead screw when turned anti-clockwise.