Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

ox dfx plates

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by kev20009, May 17, 2015.

  1. kev20009

    kev20009 Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    14
    hi guys not sure if this is the right forum,

    tried the dfx files for the ox plates, mdf 4mm what happens is it does not cot continues holes it does the strait lines and step the corners, after completed there is a lot of lines not joined, about 1mm out side.

    is it me doing something wrong, or maybe a setting im not putting right,
    any help appreciated guys kev
     
  2. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    583
    What software are you using? Can you provide any photos of the results?
     
  3. kev20009

    kev20009 Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    14
    software uccnc kev
     
  4. kev20009

    kev20009 Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    14
    photo showing where it does not join up

    thanks kev
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Joe Santarsiero

    Joe Santarsiero OB addict
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    824
    Likes Received:
    169
    looks like a cutter comp issue. it has the right path. Maybe something with tool diameter setting. Does the simulation run fine?
     
  6. kev20009

    kev20009 Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    14
    screen shot from vcaeve pro, as you can see there are lots of nodes, and it cuts each one instead of a full path

    thanks guys
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Joe Santarsiero

    Joe Santarsiero OB addict
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    824
    Likes Received:
    169
    I'm not familiar with that sofware. Have you tried importing again or importing as another format?
    You may have to manually clean up the dxf or the gcode.
     
  8. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    583
    I'm not familiar with the software either. The problem however is fairly obvious. It is offsetting the tool to the edge of the line based upon whichever end it sees as the starting end of each line segment. The line that runs down between all the segments should be your cut line. You may need to dig a bit deeper into your software to find a way to fix this or you may just have to adjust it all by hand.
     
  9. kev20009

    kev20009 Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    14
    right guys, tried dfx files, from ooznest, and imported ok, the one node per hole, not 50 like the other one, and this file cut the holes and edge ok, the other dfx was cutting a line then, wouldmake hole to cut a corner,

    photo attached, just on mdf, 1mm deep, to show out line, all new to this so still learning, but want to make bigger machine,
    thanks for all the help guys, kev cnc 2.jpg
     
  10. Joe Santarsiero

    Joe Santarsiero OB addict
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    824
    Likes Received:
    169
    That looks a lot better. Good luck
     
  11. kev20009

    kev20009 Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    14
    yes it does, the only thing baffles me is all these files when open, material thickness is 25mm, but the videos show 1/4 that's 6.2 mm, thanks kev
     
  12. Jestah

    Jestah Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    80
    try grabbing that group of lines and seeing if it is a single closed vector. Looks to me like you have a few different lines that are not connected.

    If its not that maybe check the post processor as it could also be tool comp as well
     

    Attached Files:

    • join.png
      join.png
      File size:
      18.9 KB
      Views:
      134
  13. kev20009

    kev20009 Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    14
    Thanks will try that, As that could be it, still learning the software, Thanks kev
     
  14. Joe Santarsiero

    Joe Santarsiero OB addict
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    824
    Likes Received:
    169
    I think it wasn't picking up cutter comp on some of those cuts prior to cleaning it up. Just a hunch.
     
  15. DazTheGas

    DazTheGas Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    96
    From a quick observation from your first pic, it looks like its doing inside cuts to the profile in some places and outside cuts in other places, I dont know the software but try changing so all the arrows that I can see are on the outside.

    DazTheGas
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The OpenBuilds Team is dedicated helping you to Dream it - Build it - Share it! Collaborate on our forums and be sure to visit the Part Store for all your Maker needs.


    Support@OpenBuilds.com

  • Like us on Facebook

  • Support Open Source FairShare Program!

    OpenBuilds FairShare Give Back Program provides resources to Open Source projects, developers and schools around the world. Invest in your future by helping others develop their future.

    Donate to Open Source