Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

OpenBuilds OX CNC Machine

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Mark Carew, Dec 15, 2013.

  1. cncmystic

    cncmystic New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    Aluminum cut piece looks good and all done on the OX !!! Great !!!
    You say that you cut steel as well ?? What accuracy did you get on that ? flexing and all that !
    I am looking at getting the WorkBee that has C-beams and thus hopefully a lot more sturdy so that bodes well for aluminum milling !
    I like your aluminium table. Looks great. Could you tell me what is behind the design of this and how you intend to make use of it ?
     
  2. daniel lopez hernandez

    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi

    does the xPRO V3 , work with mastercam ?

    i try many times but when i use mastercam and generated the gcode, the cnc get crazy
     
  3. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    382
    Hi Daniel,
    Does it have a grbl post processor? Looking around quick it looks like it doesn't, so it's using codes that are not supported.
    Regards
    Gary
     
  4. Gaou²

    Gaou² New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    guys i need some help . i replaced my x axis belt with a leadscrew 10x3 ( 3 pitch 3 lead ) . i set the steps per second at 666.6666666667 ( is this a bad number ?) . Anyway i am getting an error that the speed is too high for the kernel speed so i am lowering my speeds way down but then it gets too slow.

    am i missing something here?
     
  5. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    382
    Hi Gaou, first thing we need to know is what controller and what driver settings, the steps per mm will reflect the lead and your microstep setting.
    If you are accedding the frequency of the system you can lower your micro steps.
    If you are using 1/10 microstep now (which would make sense for 666.666) try 1/4 and the steps per mm will be 266.666
    Cheers
    Gary
     
  6. Gaou²

    Gaou² New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    yep sorry . i was just looking my signature for writing down the specs. i am using a gecko g540 . i think the microstep on this controller is fixed .
     
  7. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    382
    Gaou, you can an increase your kernel speed from the default 25kHz, but your computer might have issue with it, or maybe not, just have to try.
    I found some threads easily about how to do this..
    cheers
    Gary
     
  8. Gaou²

    Gaou² New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    what do you mean exactly by "some threads". isnt it just a value on mach3 . is it more than that ?

    the problem is that i am getting burns at the workpieces as the spindle cant go below 7500.

    every time i am saying ok we ve finished with the build it is time to cut , something is comiing up. there is a lot to be learned . hard thing.

    anyway i ll see tomorrow it has a drive test ( the mach3 ) witch is something i probably need to run. the g540 also has some pots that i dont know what should i do with them.
     
    #3488 Gaou², Aug 15, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2018
  9. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    382
    Hi Gaou, Not a problem, I see English is not your language, but you are doing great!
    By "threads" I mean I searched google and found other forums talking about " adjusting the Kernel speed".
    I didn't know what this was until I read some more, as I do not have Mach 3 or a gecko drive :).
    Here is the manual which describes the trip pot, not for adjusting the speed but the low speed smoothness.
    Here is where kernel speed is in Mach3 settings (picture below).
    Higher speed puts more stress on the computer, but most can take 45kHz from what I've read.
    Cheers
    Gary

    upload_2018-8-15_17-18-34.png
     
  10. Gaou²

    Gaou² New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    ok finally i stucked with 25khz ( lack of options ) and probably there wasn't 35khz for me . i guess i have to stay on low speed. after all i was looking for rigidity not speed .

    thanks for ur kind replies.
     
  11. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    382
    Should be able to change.. maybe disconnect the g540 first? Then reconnect. It is changing the parallel port communications, that is a big disadvantage of the parallel port systems.
    Cheers
    Gary
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  12. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    382
    Ok, looks like the free version of mach3 doesn't let you change this.
    What speed are you limited to?
    I'm figuring 25kHz x 60 / 666.66 = 2250mm/min that's not too bad.
    Cheers
    Gary
     
  13. Gobi

    Gobi New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, new user here in search for some information.

    I've been looking in to build Ox router and noticed that some users have made some updates to current design. What would be optimal drawings to make an 1500x1500 router with about 50mm add to Z height? I would be milling aluminium with it with normal materials line wood, plastic etc. Also is there any modifications to make it more ridig by using c-beams on Y axis?

    I have some experince with 3d printing, just sold my CR-10S with tons of modifications, got tired of constantly twiddling with it. I'm buying new one when SLS/SLA/DLP printer prices come down.
     
  14. cncmystic

    cncmystic New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gobi
    Look at the WorkBee from Ooznet 1000mm by 1000mm screwdrive.
    That is the one I just purchased and arrived yesterday.
    I want to cut aluminum as well and from my research, that is the best option available on the market
    They do a 1500mm one as well but it is belt drive only, which I would not recommend for aluminum work.
    Member Turk has modified his to provide more room under the cutting bit so that he can route taller items.
    The only mod I am making at this stage is to install five waste board supports instead of three as I deemed that three was not enough and I wanted to provide support at the waste board as well.
     
  15. Gaou²

    Gaou² New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    i am having the ox and also a minimill right now. minimill is for cutting bronze and some other non ferous metals and the ox has been purchased for cutting wood . believe me wood is more difficult material than almost any metal. on the metals you can go slow and slower add cooling and cut it . on the wood there is no cooling option and also wood doesn't like slow at all so you have to be strong to be fast.

    The perfect solution would be a cbeam ox machine but this is a different budget. I would say talk to the openbuilders and get one ready for buildnig with all the upgrades.

    At this time my ox runs with a 10x3 leadscrew on xAxis and a printed ( abs ) nut . during the next month i hope i ll replace the y axis belts and then the structural part will take place with heat treated steel as a reniforcement material.

    so in my opinion you cant have them all at one. if you want strength go smaller. otherwise you ll end up like me which i wanted all and took from the three the longest one :rolleyes:( sorry it is a saying here). the 1x1 meter sound better although i would prefer something even smaller.

    for the record i owned three mendels with duet boards but the two of them have been sold to get to this cnc upgrade ( routers) . so you had to keep ur printer as it is very helpful when building-upgrading cncs.
     
  16. cncmystic

    cncmystic New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just for info, The Workbee is the successor to the OX, based on the OX but now with C-beams and improvements learned from their experience on the OX
    Up to 1000mm x 1000mm can be screw drive or belt and bigger than that is belt only.
    Hence why I went for the Workbee 1000mmm x 1000mm screwdrive
     
  17. Gobi

    Gobi New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, thanks for the info. Since I will be mostly routing plywood, plastic, wood, carbon etc, I might build that 1500x1500 Ox first. Might extend it to fit a full size plywood (1220x2440) into it. As you guys mention, those belts will not take the force coming from aluminium routing. That 1000x1000 C-Beam sure looks nice, might invest to it later on. But I will focus on the Ox now.

    So what are the most wanted updates to default Ox? Little more Z, screw on X? If you could link some of those builds.

    I have a workshop at my disposal, they have lasercutter and full CNC equipment. My brother is working there so they make parts offhours for me. I pay material + something for the work, but not full price what they would take from normal customer.
     
  18. Jonas Hermansen

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone.

    I have an OX inspired 1500x1500 CNC with C-Beams, but I'd like a little more Z-height.
    I was wondering if I could just cut some new alu Y/X plates on the CNC with more height so that I'd approach the 150 mm max travel of the Z-axis, but what thickness should the plates then be?
    Currently, they are 6 mm, would 10 or 12 mm make up for the rigidity loss compared with the smaller plates?

    Is it even feasible to cut such thick alu plates on the CNC as is?

    I'm pretty new to CNC world, having bought the machine second hand - so I'm not sure what the consequences of extending the Z height would be.

    In the future I'd mainly cut wood, but it would be nice to still be able to work alu.
     
  19. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,497
    Likes Received:
    1,981
    Hello @Jonas Hermansen welcome to OpenBuilds and to CNC
    I would say go for the 6mm they should be plenty thick enough for your idea of more Z height
     
  20. Jonas Hermansen

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi @Mark Carew
    Thank you for the quick reply.

    If that's the case - why isn't there more Z height in the system? What are the primary limiting factors for rigidity?
    Since the Z axis has 150 mm travel regardless, I'd assume that the flex in that assembly would be the same no matter the height of the Y-plates.
     
  21. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,497
    Likes Received:
    1,981
    We try to keep as low a center of gravity as possible to help eliminate any other deflection that will come when moving the gantry away from the cutter (in a router configuration) The farther you move it the more it acts like a leaver and the more chance deflections will be introduced into the system along that axis (usually Y axis). That being said the primary flex like you mention will be along the twisting of the axis beam (x axis on OX) so like you mention this flex will be there no matter the height added. Of course proper step down routing techniques will allow you to work most materials no matter the height so that being said (and I probably am not supposed to be letting this out now, but its too cool not too! ;) ) we are working on a machine we call the Lead Machine and its a pure style modular OpenBuilds machine that utilizes all standard OpenBuilds plates and parts. This machine being truly modular will allow for growing the Z axis.So you can grow the sides as high as you like, in fact you can even add C-beam actuators on the sides if you would like. This allows you to laser/mill large objects as well as going super low profile to make a really stout low profile machine like the OX style.
    I say go for making the taller plates and see how it works out for you or wait a bit and see if the idea of the Lead Machine will work for your project.

    Lead Machine 1010 Black.png
     
  22. Jonas Hermansen

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    That looks really cool :) Looking forward to seeing more about it.

    I was just out in the garage and pulling/pushing on the top of the spindle - it's clear that the deflection is mainly in the spindle mount and the twisting of the X-axis C-beam itself.
    I think I'll just use the 6 mm - then I can also reuse the screws :)

    I noticed that my machine doesn't have the small angle brackets reinforcing the joint between the X-axis C-beam and the Y-plate - what is the function of these? To increase the torsional rigidity of the X-axis C-Beam?
     
  23. Jonas Hermansen

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    @Mark Carew
    One more question - what is the purpose of the blue holes in the Y-plates?

    I'm currently using the top left hole for wire passthrough, but the top right and the bottom left I don't know what's for.
    Udklip.PNG
     
  24. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,497
    Likes Received:
    1,981
    Yes all the help it can get with the connectors , until such time as we have the new wider C-Beam ;) Honestly though we have found with all the cutting/milling we do here, the twist or deflections are not a problem to contend with if your work shallow cuts. It will always take longer but these are lighter duty machines then the cast steel giants in the family.
    Ok, so if I remember correctly the two holes on the left and top are wire pass throughs and the top middle hole is for the belt to come through to pull tension if needed.
    Hope this helps @Jonas Hermansen
     
  25. Gaou²

    Gaou² New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    sorry for taking such a long time to reply. on this speed i am getting a warning . if i go down to 2000mm/min it is ok. i quess that's a fine speed for a rookie but i kind of used the previous ( belt ) belt speed.
     
  26. gibson

    gibson Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    22
    hello iam starting to get the hang of this cnc stuff long road of learning lol ...what( size bit) did they use for the Router/Spindle Mount
     
  27. gibson

    gibson Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    22
    yea man its fun as hell sitting there watching these amazeing machines work ... iam all ways finding stuff to build build my first guitar ..... enjoy.
     
  28. gibson

    gibson Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    22
    hello i`am looking to get a water cooled spindle like yours how is the weight and can u do a video of it working i have the ox build i was told the weight of that spindle would be to heavy iam useing nema 23 motor ///
     
  29. Gaou²

    Gaou² New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2

    it is a little heavy for that build but if you have a 23 stepper that wouldn't be a problem. i am using a nema 17 and it cant keep the weight of the 1.5kw water spindle i am using.
     
  30. gibson

    gibson Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    22
    well iam trying to go with the 20x80 v-slot rails but can`t find the X PLATE files to make them ...
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice