Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

OpenBuilds LEAD CNC

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Mark Carew, Nov 20, 2018.

  1. sharmstr

    sharmstr Veteran
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    582
    Not correct. Having them in lower left is acceptable. Its a personal preference thing.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  2. gregers05

    gregers05 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2019
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    32
    Okay, i misunderstood then. Thanks
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  3. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    1,002
    (; still havent read the recommend reading (; github.com/gnea/grbl/wiki - switch preference is discussed in length on the FAQ page (use menu on the right of the wiki)
     
  4. Gofertpc

    Gofertpc New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    22
    Ok - I have a major issue with my Lead. I got the machine fully assembled and wired. One set of nut blocks on my Y2 Axis seems to be considerably undersized. It took a good bit of force to thread the lead screw but I saw comments previously that this could be an issue. Well the motor will not turn that axis at all. I thought maybe I installed them wrong. I disassembled that side and took out the nut blocks to find one had cracked across the center hole. Was it a bad set of blocks and should I just order new ones?
     
  5. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Contact the parts store and they will send a replacement. When you start assembling it again, spray some dry silicone or ptfe (teflon) lubricant on the screws. This makes a world of difference as to how well they turn.
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  6. Gofertpc

    Gofertpc New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    22
    I had used some dry silicone on the first one. All of them are fine except the one that cracked. Super fast response from support and a replacement is on the way.
     
    #636 Gofertpc, Aug 26, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2019
    sharmstr and Rick 2.0 like this.
  7. Gofertpc

    Gofertpc New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    22
    Ok, next issue. My new nut blocks will be here tomorrow (excitement overload). In the meantime I have a single nut block on the Y2 axis just to test the motion. X Axis is fine. Z axis was inverted so I switched it in the motion control software - working as expected - Y axis is a whole different story. One motor trams forward and the Y2 trams backwards. I have double checked and triple checked the wiring - no luck. I took the black box partially apart to ensure the mirror Y jumpers were set correctly (they are both on the center jumper positions. I'm sure it's as simple as reversing a set of wires on the Y2 axis but I don't know which ones. I have the high torque NEMA 23s. Any pointing in the right direction would be much appreciated.
     
  8. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    1,002
    Reverse the wiring order of the second motor, as shown in the Wiring Video :)
    Ie what is wired 1,2,3,4 flips around and becomes 4,3,2,1
     
  9. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    You don't reverse wires on one Y-axis when using screws. Both should be wired the same as they should turn the same direction.
     
  10. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    1,002
    As he reports his is already one going the wrong way though either its already 'reversed' so swopping still fixes the issue (;

     
    #640 Peter Van Der Walt, Aug 28, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2019
  11. Gofertpc

    Gofertpc New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thanks gentlemen. I'll give it a shot tonight.
     
  12. Gofertpc

    Gofertpc New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    22
    Reversing the wires fixed it. New nut block installed. Just finished moving it around and ran a successful homing cycle. Thanks again for the assistance. Now I just need to finish my table then cut my waste board. Just too **** hot outside - still at 116 degrees.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt and sharmstr like this.
  13. plyswthsqurles

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ordered my lead 1010 machine last month, finally finished my CNC table and am excited/getting ready to get started on my build. I think i have 2 questions

    * After some extensive searching and information overload, is it possible to increase the z axis travel on the lead 1010 without introducing issues with flex/twist/torsion in any other axis and what not? I apologize if this is a frequent question. Fell down the rabbit hole for a few hours and read quite a bit. I think to start, 2 inches of travel won't be a problem with a 1/2 inch waste board but was looking to use 3/4inch with t-tracks but now i don't want to sacrifice any of the work piece height range.

    * Around building the waste board, I wanted to add t-tracks to the waste board but didn't realize how the waste board sits on top of the frame. I think i'll be fine with screwing the work piece to the waste board in the mean time but was wondering how others go about securing their work piece without sacrificing z axis travel with a lead 1010 (other than screwing to waste board)
     
  14. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Veteran
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    480
    Masking tape on workpiece and spoiler board - superglue between the masking tape.
    Alex.
     
  15. Gofertpc

    Gofertpc New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    22
    I'll be doing my waste board this weekend. I plan on using a grid pattern of 1/4 nuts (still undecided on spacing - probably every 2 inches.
     
  16. plyswthsqurles

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    So 1/2 inch waste board with 1/4 inch tall nuts to allow for surfacing of the spoil board i take it?
     
  17. Gofertpc

    Gofertpc New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    22
    1/2 inch waste board - the T nuts are 5/16 total height - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MSVU3WF/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1. My plan is to lay 2 layers the waste board on the cnc and find the 4 corner maximum points for the router with a 3/4 inch bit (since the barrel bottoms are 3/4. Then divide the remainder up equally as close to 2 inches as possible. Clamp both pieces down to the frame and let the CNC cut the barrel and the hole using a 1/4 inch bit. I can then manually do the outer most row beyond the limits by hand drilling. Insert the T-nuts, flip the board over and install.
     
  18. plyswthsqurles

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you say 2 layers, are you saying an inch in total thickness for your waste board (two 1/2 inch mdf boards stacked on top of each other)? Or is that stacking 2 layers just so you can cut holes via CNC and have one layer of 1/2 inch MDF as your waste board?

    Rest of it sounds good. I think i may follow something along your approach and abandon the t-tracks. I didn't know if i could just swap out the beam that the router rides on the z axis to be a bit taller/longer in order to gain more z axis travel.
     
  19. Gofertpc

    Gofertpc New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    22
    Just stacking 2 so when I plunge the holes through for the nuts it won't go into the CNC itself. Just one piece mounted.
     
  20. plyswthsqurles

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah ok got it, thanks for the clarification. I think i like your approach so will probably follow suit. thanks again.
     
  21. Gofertpc

    Gofertpc New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    22
    OK - created a file for putting t nuts on my spoilboard. First I homed the machine and used a 15 degree v bit to mark the point. I then moved the X axis to the opposite side and marked that point - moved the Y and did the same thing on the other end. Using V Carve Pro I set the circles one inch inside the max boundaries. Set the tool paths to cut the inset for the t-nut as well as the hole. Save the gcode from vcarve using the grbl inch post processor. Open the file in openbuilds controller. Select check size - it moves to the X axis then moves forward on the Y and immediately hits the limit switch. Since the circles are inside the max boundaries of the machine I'm stumped. On the setup in VCarve I have the start in the front left where the machine homes - since I have set the X and Y to zero at the homing cycle and then set the Z I don't see why it is moving forward at all. Any insight would be appreciated.
     
  22. Gofertpc

    Gofertpc New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    22
    Figured it out. Had to reverse Y and reset the homing direction.
     
  23. Gofertpc

    Gofertpc New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    22
    It's finally complete. I'm working in a small space (1 car garage) so everything has to have multiple purposes. I made a very sturdy base so I can store my heavier tools out of the way. Planer, sanders etc). Used 2 x 6 construction lumber milled to 1 1/4 x 5 for the base box as well as the top box except for the two from cross members which are milled 2 x 4s to let me raise the two drawers and give a bit more clearance underneath. The uprights are 4 x 4s milled to 3 x 3. Used heavy duty workbench bolt on the bottom joints making this thing rock solid. Wires from the controller that don't run through the cable organizer run under the table. Frame is 0 x 40 and top is 48 x 48. The overhang on each side allow for bump protection of the motors and electronics. I am extremely happy with the way it came out. IMG_0831.JPG IMG_0832.JPG IMG_0834.JPG IMG_0835.JPG IMG_0836.JPG IMG_0837.JPG IMG_0838.JPG IMG_0840.JPG
     
  24. Pelted

    Pelted New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Max travel speed of the LEAD CNC? I've mounted a JTech laser on my LEAD this weekend and have been pretty happy with the results. I've been trying to figure out how fast I can push things and it seems to top out on usability at 100 in/min maybe a bit higher. Does this seem about right?
     
  25. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    323
    Hi Pelted,
    Max speed depends on the voltage, motor (inductance), and friction, every machine will be different.
    100ipm max sounds slow, but not terrible, that's about 300 RPM, on my belted machine that would be ~570ipm :eek:
    Cheers
    Gary
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  26. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,385
    Likes Received:
    1,848
    Look great! I really like how you incorporated everything on the cabinet so you can roll it around the shop. Nice job :thumbsup:
     
  27. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,385
    Likes Received:
    1,848
    Same on all the machines we have assembled here in OpenBuilds HQ :thumbsup:
    I hear you there, but if it does happen separation or shielding is the ticket.
    Your choice. Not using work coordinates and a simple zeroing at the bottom left of a design works for me. I lay out my designs at the bottom left and use this as my zero/home. It's also a convenient place to home and swap bits. I also understand moving them to top right to get everything out of the way.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  28. Allistar

    Allistar New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm interesting in buying/building this kit. My current CNC is limited to 500x600mm and will only run at 1800mm/min. I am after a machine that is closer to 1000x1000mm capable of at least 4000mm/min.

    I have a few questions:
    Would it be difficult to modify the LEAD CNC design to use 12mm 5 start lead screws and then lengthen the X and Y by 300mm to get an actual cutting area of 1000mm x 1000mm? I think 1000mm 8mm lead screw would whip too much and limit the speed.

    What's the normal operating speed of your LEAD builds? I know there are a lot of factors that determine this including the controller. Does anyone get 4000mm/min and if so was this "out of the box" or did you have to modify it?

    If I get the LEAD kit including electronics shipped to New Zealand can I just plug it into a normal 230V power source?

    Thanks,
    Allistar.
     
  29. gregers05

    gregers05 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2019
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    32
    Came here to post another question, but realized i competely forgot to respond to this!

    Ill keep the wire shielding in mind for sure. As far as zeroing, i do everything from bottom left also. Havent had any issues thus far and seems to not cause any issues.


    As far as what I came to ask....are there any plans to have a mount made that works with the makita router? A lot of people prefer the makita of the dewalt but openbuilds only offers a mount for the dewalt. What are the chances we can get a makita mount for the lead?

    I am using a 3d printed spacing ring to use for the makita that another memeber here created and seems to work well, but hard to tell if it is creating some of my tramming woes...it definitely isnt helping.
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  30. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    1,002
    Lead Machine with BlackBox should be able to do 5000mm/min rapids

    Our Meanwell LRS350 PSUs has a voltage selector switch on the side to switch between 110v and 220v modes
     
    Mark Carew likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice