Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Openbuilds CAM problem

Discussion in 'CAM' started by gerryc, Jan 4, 2020.

  1. gerryc

    gerryc New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have created a design in Inventor Fusion and exported as DXF.
    Whenever I try to import it into Openbuilds CAM i get the following error:
    An unknown error occured:TypeError: dxfentity.material is undefined
    I am at my wits end trying to figure out what is going on here.
    Any assistance in resolving this issue would be gratefully received.
    I have attached a copy of the DXF file for reference.

    Regards,
    Gerry
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    5,316
    Likes Received:
    1,797
    That particular DXF is a little hard to parse

    1) make sure its DXF R14 Polyline format (not all dxfs are the same format)
    2) might sometimes have to add an intermediate step to get clean dxfs especially with something like illustrator (more of an Art programme than CAD) for example going Illustrator>QCAD/Draftsight/Sketchup/etc in between >exported as DXF-R14
     
  3. gerryc

    gerryc New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Peter,
    Thanks for your reply.

    I cannot find a way in Fusion 2013 to generate an R14 specific DXF.
    Every one of the DXF options available throws up an error of one type or another.
    I have overcome my problem by re-designing the part in FreeCad and then using the PATH workbench in FreeCad to generate the Gcode.
    I loaded the Gcode into OpenBuilds Control and ran the simulation. It worked perfectly.
    BTW the version of FreeCad I used is 0.17 but I intend to try the latest 0.19 soon.
    I use FreeCad extensively for 3D printing and find it much more user friendly than Fusion 360 or most other solid modelling programs, particularly in the area of accurate feature placement.
     
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    5,316
    Likes Received:
    1,797
    If you have fusion, you wouldnt need OB CAM. Fusion has built in CAM thats more powerful too. OB CAM is a free, get you started, minimum learning curve option.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The OpenBuilds Team is dedicated helping you to Dream it - Build it - Share it! Collaborate on our forums and be sure to visit the Part Store for all your Maker needs.


    [email protected]

  • Follow us on Instagram

  • Support Open Source FairShare Program!

    OpenBuilds FairShare Give Back Program provides resources to Open Source projects, developers and schools around the world. Invest in your future by helping others develop their future.

    Donate to Open Source
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice