Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

OpenBuilds ACRO Laser System

Discussion in 'Laser Cutters' started by Mark Carew, Sep 12, 2017.

1. Mark Carew

Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

Mark Carew published a new build:

Read more about this build...

Ram Singh likes this.
  2. Kyo

Kyo Veteran
    Staff Member Builder Resident Builder

Very cool system Mark :thumbsup: so many project possibilities once you have access to a laser. A nice addition to the lineup.

Mark Carew likes this.
  3. mcbuilder22

Builder

Looks cool.

Can you be more specific about which laser to buy that you're using.

I'm completely new to lasers and would like the first try to be dummy proof.

4. Jonathon Duerig

Jonathon Duerig Journeyman
    Builder

I was thinking exactly the same thing. My only disappointment with this project is that it doesn't come with a laser option. So now I'm trying to figure out what laser to get. I see this on the store page:

Compatible Laser Diodes (Not Included):
    • Please note: There are lot of great choices when it comes to laser diodes so be sure to pick the right one for your application. Power choice is important as well as making sure your diode supports PWM.
      The ACRO Diode Mounting Plate hole pattern is designed to accommodate many available diodes. If the diode you choose has a different mounting pattern you can easily drill holes in the acrylic to mount.
    Here are a couple laser diode manufactures that may help.

---

If anyone else here has experience with laser diodes, please let us know which lasers you might recommend and what the trade-offs we should look for are.

-D

5. GrayUK

GrayUK Openbuilds Team Elder
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

Another good design from the Crew. Well done. :thumbsup::thumbsup:
    Means I've got to find some more space to put one of these!! :rolleyes:
    Really Great video! Even the videos are getting better. :D