Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Nothing Works!

Discussion in 'Controller Boards' started by Tooluser, Nov 3, 2016.

1. Tooluser

Tooluser New
    Builder

Hi all

I am new to this and just building my first CNC machine, I have it all built and ready to go however nothing works as advertised.
    The board is Arduino Uno powered from 12v PSU with a CNC Engraving Shield on top, 3 axis motors are connected with drivers plugged into appropriate slots, 3 endstops connected to correct pins. I have flashed GRBL firmware via Arduino IDE and Universal Gcode Sender is installed.

GRBL is successfully uploaded as I can access the settings easily, Universal Gcode sender is functioning with no alarms showing, if I jog an axis using the arrows the coordinate display shows movement on that axis but nothing is happening on the CNC. Its as if there is no power getting to the motors, I have 3 jumpers under each of the drivers but no others.

Am I missing something here; is there something else I should have or other settings needed, do I have a dodgy shield? All advise appreciated as I have already lost weeks of time trying to sort this out.

Thanks
    ToolUser

2. dddman

dddman Journeyman
    Builder

Did you install your drivers in the wrong orientation? Are the drivers chips hot?

3. Jonathon Duerig

Jonathon Duerig Journeyman
    Builder

Check to make sure that you have all the power you need. For me, this happens all the time when I have power to my Uno controller but no power to the actual driver. Look to see if there is a separate power plug input to the driver.

The other thing to check is to make sure that wiring is hooked up. The easy way to test this is to:

(a) Turn everything off.
    (b) Each stepper has four wires. These are separated into two pairs. One pair wires up next to each other on one side of the screw terminal. The other pair is wired up on the other side. So your screw terminal looks like this:

Screw <-> A1