Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

newbie needs help tramming Y axis

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by GLGofLB, Dec 20, 2019.

  1. GLGofLB

    GLGofLB New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just finished building my Workbee 1010. Took about three weeks working on it part time. Controlling the motors using the new Black box. two issues 1) it took multiple tries for the computer to offer up a Com port is this normal? I am using a dedicated laptop. Secondly when test jogging my machine for the first time the Y2 was not properly pluged in so Isuspect my y beam is now slightly or grossly out of square. How best to tram the y axis. Finally is necessary to tram the Z-axis and router spindle. I am new to CNC Routers but have extensive experience with building and programing 3D printers and I am comfortable with Arduino programing and code
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Builder Project Maker

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    2,859
    1) make sure you have the Drivers: Virtual COM Port Drivers
    2) Make sure your limit switches are wired correctly (refer to docs.openbuilds.com) as incorrectly wired limits can short the 5v rail to GND, preventing the board from running, which will have the symptom of the USB chip not enumerating
     
  3. GLGofLB

    GLGofLB New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    The limit switches are wired correctly and function in the Trouble shooting window. The machine also homes properly. However I will check for possible grounding issues. Are there any other places that grounding can occur and cause this probelm? Also the virtual COM port drivers, is that a Windows adhancement? I am on vaction right now and cant get my hands on the machine until after the 28th
     
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Builder Project Maker

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    2,859
    Drivers are available on FTDI's site for Mac and Windows - and in all cases perform better than generic drivers included in OS's
     
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Builder Project Maker

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    2,859
    The popular mistake people make is to use regular lever microswitches but wired with 3 wires, putting V+ onto NC, SIG onto NO and GND onto C. When the switch is open then (not triggered) 5V is shorted to GND via NC-C in the switch. Depending on several factors it might be shorting dead (no USB enumeration, not booting) or just enough to look like all is well. Docs.openbuilds.com shows to wire those with 2 wires only - that the popular mistake at least. I cannot say for sure where ever else you may have miswired or loose connections. Just the general idea is that incorrect wiring can result in overcurrent draw, or short circuits that prevent proper functioning.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice