Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Multiple stacked machines

Discussion in '3D printers' started by John S, Aug 24, 2016.

1. John S

John S New
    Builder

I want to start off and say **Newb Alert**. I am just now getting the hang of my not-so-very-accurate-assembly-manual-included tevo tarantula as my first 3D Printer.

I have wanted to have several printers and from what I am seeing building them (based on modified versions here and on repraps site) is the way to go. I am working with limited space in my apartment and really just wanted some opinions. I am a huge tech nerd and work with rackmount servers and though "hmm, why can't I do a rackmount of printers?"

Now that some of the background is out of the way my question is this: What are your opinions on simply getting some 20-4040 aluminum frames (say 1500mm) and building a few small printers one on top the other(my needs are small so they don't have to be super tall ones)? I plan to do a bowden setup using the diamond extruder (3 color mixing print head). would the printers all moving cause extra, even too much vibrations? If so would maybe a wall and floor bracket help mitigate that? I am also a programmer so I can make plugins for repetier to allow for multi-printer jobs and such and know what boards and drivers to use so I am good there.

#1 John S, Aug 24, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2016
  2. eddiejr

eddiejr New
    Builder

Great idea! I have a bunch of old D.E.C. mid-sized 19" racks with round holes that I replaced with Compaq ones that have square ones. The DEC ones are built really well. Maybe if I turn one sideways, it might make a great CNC table?

I think someone posted recently with a similar idea about making something with his rack..

3. John S

John S New
    Builder