Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Motors don't move

Discussion in 'Motors' started by Ynitial, Dec 31, 2022.

  1. Ynitial

    Ynitial New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2022
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've just switched from a CNC xPRO v5 to a Blackbox X32. I had everything running on the xPRO, but the Y axis control was faulty (1/2 Y motor outputs not working correctly), thus the switch.

    Yesterday, I connected everything 1-on-1 and copied my old GRBL settings to find out my motors didn't move and I hope someone can help me figure this out.

    After some tests;
    • I can control the coolant output
    • My router spins up
    • I can control the router speed
    • When I use my emergency switch, nothing shows in the software but a LED lights up
    • When I change settings, like "pulloff distance", I hear something moving physically
    • When I try to home the machine, I get an ALARM 8
    • When I check the troubleshooting tab, nothing changes when I manually press any limit switch
    • When I manually press a limit switch, sometimes ALARM 1 triggers and sometimes I get a "GrblHAL 1.1f ..." message - pressing the switch again triggers an ALARM 1
    • Switch lights are dimmed by default and light up red when pressed
    • Pressing any jog key changes the location in the software (but doesn't move any motors)

    Some things worth mentioning;

    I have a RatRig KillerBee with Nema 23 stepper motors (supplied by them) and used their BlackBox wiring diagram. Which has exactly the same wiring for the motors as for the xPRO. Except for the limit switches which is strange, because I had everything working previously with exactly the same wiring although limit switch cables seem mirrored in the wiring diagrams.

    I'm using a USB adapter of which the manual states you can't. I think this doesn't cause my problem since I can control the coolant, router etc.

    I did not install the BlackBox Device Drivers since I'm on MacOS 13 and they aren't available for my OS (yet?).

    An export of my settings:

    Code:
    $0=10.0  ;  Step pulse time, microseconds
    $1=255  ;  Step idle delay, milliseconds
    $2=0  ;  Step pulse invert, mask
    $3=5  ;  Step direction invert, mask
    $4=0  ;  Invert step enable pin, boolean
    $5=7  ;  Invert limit pins, boolean/mask
    $6=1  ;  Invert probe pin, boolean
    $7=0  ;  Disable spindle with 0 speed, boolean
    $8=0  ;  Ganged axes direction invert as bitfield
    $10=511  ;  Status report options, mask
    $11=0.010  ;  Junction deviation, millimeters
    $12=0.002  ;  Arc tolerance, millimeters
    $13=0  ;  Report in inches, boolean
    $14=0  ;  Limit pins invert, mask
    $15=0  ;  Coolant pins invert, mask
    $16=0  ;  Spindle pins invert, mask
    $17=0  ;  Control pins pullup disable, mask
    $18=0  ;  Limit pins pullup disable, mask
    $19=0  ;  Probe pin pullup disable, boolean
    $20=0  ;  Soft limits enable, boolean
    $21=1  ;  Hard limits enable, boolean
    $22=1  ;  Homing cycle enable, boolean (Grbl) / mask (GrblHAL)
    $23=1  ;  Homing direction invert, mask
    $24=100.0  ;  Homing locate feed rate, mm/min
    $25=1000.0  ;  Homing search seek rate, mm/min
    $26=250  ;  Homing switch debounce delay, milliseconds
    $27=10.000  ;  Homing switch pull-off distance, millimeters
    $28=0.100  ;  G73 retract distance, in mm
    $29=0.0  ;  Step pulse delay (ms)
    $30=25000.000  ;  Maximum spindle speed, RPM
    $31=5000.000  ;  Minimum spindle speed, RPM
    $32=0  ;  Laser-mode enable, boolean
    $33=5000.0  ;  Spindle PWM frequency
    $34=0.0  ;  Spindle off Value
    $35=0.0  ;  Spindle min value
    $36=100.0  ;  Spindle max value
    $37=0  ;  Stepper deenergize mask
    $39=1  ;  Enable printable realtime command characters, boolean
    $40=0  ;  Apply soft limits for jog commands, boolean
    $43=1  ;  Homing passes
    $44=4  ;  Homing cycle 1
    $45=3  ;  Homing cycle 2
    $46=0  ;  Homing cycle 3
    $62=0  ;  Sleep Enable
    $63=2  ;  Feed Hold Actions
    $64=0  ;  Force Init Alarm
    $65=0  ;  Require homing sequence to be executed at startup
    $70=7  ;  Network Services
    $73=1  ;  Wifi Mode
    $74=NaN  ;  Wifi network SSID
    $75=NaN  ;  Wifi network PSK
    $100=200.000  ;  X-axis steps per millimeter
    $101=200.000  ;  Y-axis steps per millimeter
    $102=200.000  ;  Z-axis steps per millimeter
    $110=3000.000  ;  X-axis maximum rate, mm/min
    $111=3000.000  ;  Y-axis maximum rate, mm/min
    $112=3000.000  ;  Z-axis maximum rate, mm/min
    $120=150.000  ;  X-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2
    $121=150.000  ;  Y-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2
    $122=150.000  ;  Z-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2
    $130=200.000  ;  X-axis maximum travel, millimeters
    $131=200.000  ;  Y-axis maximum travel, millimeters
    $132=200.000  ;  Z-axis maximum travel, millimeters
    $300=NaN  ;  Hostname
    $302=192.168.5.1  ;  IP Address
    $303=192.168.5.1  ;  Gateway
    $304=255.255.255.0  ;  Netmask
    $305=23  ;  Telnet Port
    $306=80  ;  HTTP Port
    $307=81  ;  Websocket Port
    $341=0  ;  Tool Change Mode
    $342=30.0  ;  Tool Change probing distance
    $343=25.0  ;  Tool Change Locate Feed rate
    $344=200.0  ;  Tool Change Search Seek rate
    $345=100.0  ;  Tool Change Probe Pull Off rate
    $370=0  ;  Invert I/O Port Inputs (mask)
    $384=0  ;  Disable G92 Persistence
     
  2. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    $4=0 ; Invert step enable pin, boolean
    you need to invert that
     
  3. Ynitial

    Ynitial New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2022
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks David. That changes something. On the troubleshooting page I can now see when I manually press a limit switch.

    Motors are still not moving though. And when I home, it does nothing and now gives me an ALARM 9 after +/- 15 seconds. Searched around a bit for this alarm and tried various mixes of $2/$3/$5 settings, disabled homing and put $22 on 5 (read that somewhere) without any result.

    I'm going to identify the coils tomorrow to validate the wiring is the same as the xPRO (which it should be according to the RatRig manual). If anyone has any other ideas, please let me know!
     
    #3 Ynitial, Dec 31, 2022
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2022
  4. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    changing the motors to enabled will not affect how switches are sensed, at all.
    if the motors do not move then homing will never work so lets try to diagnose that problem while sidestepping homing completely.

    1. turn the 24v power supply off.
    2. in CONTROL connect to the BB and click on the grbl settings page.
    3. click on the 'select a machine' bar and select a machine that is closest to the machine you have in size and construction (chiefly belt or leadscrew drives?).
    4. save those settings to the BB and reset.
    5. now use that settings panel to turn homing OFF, do not change anything else. (changing random settings will pretty much never make it work :)
    6. make sure your 24v power supply is connected correctly to the BB and turn it on.
    7. The motors should click into powered up state and be impossible to turn by hand.
    8. IF NOT then changing random settings will not make any difference! in this case you must confirm the coils on the motors and that they are correctly connected to the BB. (power off first!) then confirm that $4=1 to set the enable correctly. also check that the 24v power supply is working correctly.
    9. IF they DO become stiff to turn then they are getting power.
      1. are the power settings on the BB in the middle? they ship in the middle for a good reason, it nearly always works!
      2. your max rates and accelerations appear low enough to work, but just in case, set
        $110=1500.000 ; X-axis maximum rate, mm/min
        $120=75.000 ; X-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2, reset the BB and try it X again.
    10. do the motors make any noise at all? if so, what is the noise? did it change after the above changes?
     
    Gary Caruso likes this.
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,042
    Likes Received:
    4,123
    X32 is $4=0 as set by our profiles
     
    David the swarfer likes this.
  6. Ynitial

    Ynitial New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2022
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks David for your extended comment and help! There's movement!

    For future reference;

    • At step 3 I loaded the WorkBee settings (since the KillerBee is an improvement of the WorkBee)
    • At step 7 motors were not turnable by hand
    • ... so I skipped step 8
    • $4 is indeed 0 by default (thanks Peter!)
     
  7. Ian Rusch

    Ian Rusch New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2023
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi David
    sorry for a silly question
    I am having similar problems
    when you say in step 5 to to turn OFF homing how do I do this , at $22 , what value do I enter
    have tried $22 = 5 and still find the motors will not power up, can turn by hand.

    Ian R
     
  8. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,042
    Likes Received:
    4,123
    Load a machine profile from Grbl Settings tab > Select machine from the list > Save and reset when prompted
     
  9. Ian Rusch

    Ian Rusch New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2023
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    5
    thanks
    will try that
    or should I erase the Eprom first and start a fresh
     
  10. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    just load the settings, only erase eeprom when you have proof that you need to.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  11. Ian Rusch

    Ian Rusch New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2023
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks David
    I have tried everything
    nothing works I can not get the motor drivers to activate
    I am going to give it away and look for another controller or goback to my Novusun and Mack3 which I had working.

    Thanks all for your help but it seems to be a lost cause

    Ian R
     
  12. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    what controller is it Ian?
    for a Blackbox 4x and an X32 the $4 setting is different.
     
  13. Ian Rusch

    Ian Rusch New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2023
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    5
    X32
    The power switch does not work either, but that is not a great issue I just switch off the 24 volt power supply
     
  14. Ian Rusch

    Ian Rusch New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2023
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi all
    last ditch attemp to get this thing to work
    can any one see why it will not enitialise my motor drivers
    see attached file

    $0=10.0 ; Step pulse time, microseconds
    $1=255 ; Step idle delay, milliseconds
    $2=0 ; Step pulse invert, mask
    $3=0 ; Step direction invert, mask
    $4=0 ; Invert step enable pin, boolean
    $5=0 ; Invert limit pins, boolean/mask
    $6=1 ; Invert probe pin, boolean
    $8=0 ; Ganged axes direction invert as bitfield
    $9=1 ; PWM Spindle as bitfield where setting bit 0 enables the rest
    $10=511 ; Status report options, mask
    $11=0.010 ; Junction deviation, millimeters
    $12=0.002 ; Arc tolerance, millimeters
    $13=0 ; Report in inches, boolean
    $14=0 ; Limit pins invert, mask
    $15=0 ; Coolant pins invert, mask
    $16=0 ; Spindle pins invert, mask
    $17=0 ; Control pins pullup disable, mask
    $18=0 ; Limit pins pullup disable, mask
    $19=0 ; Probe pin pullup disable, boolean
    $20=0 ; Soft limits enable, boolean
    $21=0 ; Hard limits enable, boolean
    $22=0 ; Homing cycle enable, boolean (Grbl) / mask (GrblHAL)
    $23=7 ; Homing direction invert, mask
    $24=100.0 ; Homing locate feed rate, mm/min
    $25=1000.0 ; Homing search seek rate, mm/min
    $26=250 ; Homing switch debounce delay, milliseconds
    $27=5.000 ; Homing switch pull-off distance, millimeters
    $28=0.100 ; G73 retract distance, in mm
    $29=0.0 ; Step pulse delay (ms)
    $30=1000.000 ; Maximum spindle speed, RPM
    $31=0.000 ; Minimum spindle speed, RPM
    $32=0 ; Laser-mode enable, boolean
    $33=5000.0 ; Spindle PWM frequency
    $34=0.0 ; Spindle off Value
    $35=0.0 ; Spindle min value
    $36=100.0 ; Spindle max value
    $37=0 ; Stepper deenergize mask
    $39=1 ; Enable printable realtime command characters, boolean
    $40=0 ; Apply soft limits for jog commands, boolean
    $43=1 ; Homing passes
    $44=3 ; Homing cycle 1
    $45=0 ; Homing cycle 2
    $46=0 ; Homing cycle 3
    $62=0 ; Sleep Enable
    $63=3 ; Feed Hold Actions
    $64=0 ; Force Init Alarm
    $65=0 ; Require homing sequence to be executed at startup
    $70=7 ; Network Services
    $73=1 ; Wifi Mode
    $74= ; Wifi network SSID
    $75= ; Wifi network PSK
    $100=26.667 ; X-axis steps per millimeter
    $101=26.667 ; Y-axis steps per millimeter
    $102=200.000 ; Z-axis steps per millimeter
    $110=5000.000 ; X-axis maximum rate, mm/min
    $111=5000.000 ; Y-axis maximum rate, mm/min
    $112=5000.000 ; Z-axis maximum rate, mm/min
    $120=500.000 ; X-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2
    $121=500.000 ; Y-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2
    $122=500.000 ; Z-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2
    $130=800.000 ; X-axis maximum travel, millimeters
    $131=800.000 ; Y-axis maximum travel, millimeters
    $132=60.000 ; Z-axis maximum travel, millimeters
    $320=grblHAL ; Hostname, max: 64
    $322=192.168.5.1 ; IP Address
    $323=192.168.5.1 ; Gateway
    $324=255.255.255.0 ; Netmask
    $325=23 ; Telnet port
    $326=80 ; HTTP port
    $327=81 ; Websocket port
    $341=0 ; Tool Change Mode
    $342=30.0 ; Tool Change probing distance
    $343=25.0 ; Tool Change Locate Feed rate
    $344=200.0 ; Tool Change Search Seek rate
    $345=200.0 ; Tool Change Probe Pull Off rate
    $346=1 ; Restore position after M6 as boolean
    $370=0 ; Invert I/O Port Inputs (mask)
    $384=0 ; Disable G92 Persistence
    $396=30 ; WebUI timeout in minutes
    $397=0 ; WebUI auto report interval in milliseconds
    $398=35 ; Planner buffer blocks
    $481=0 ; Autoreport interval in ms
     
  15. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    ok, power switch not working, and motors not powering up, and you did load a profile from CONTROL.
    I think it is time you contacted the store for support.
    Support
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  16. Ian Rusch

    Ian Rusch New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2023
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thank you
    will do
     
  17. Ian Rusch

    Ian Rusch New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2023
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi to all on this forum
    I have contacted the store and they have despatched a new box
    What fantastic service from this forum and the store
    It is very refreshing to have such customer support these days

    Ian Rusch
    Australia
     
    David the swarfer likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice