Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Limit Switches

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by leversole, Dec 14, 2015.

  1. leversole

    leversole Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    14
    When I post my build, I will concentrate on the things I changed...no need to bore people wiht the same things! Anyway, lost my controller (another on the way) and during the down time I took my linmit swtiches off and soldered the leads...the slip on clips sometimes slip off, when they do, you can save a crash only if you can get to the power cord first! HaHa! Anyway, I found a cool out of the way place for the Z limit switch, only bad thing is you have to tear down the machine to get to it (which is why it is now soldered)!

    IMG_2779.JPG IMG_2778.JPG
     
  2. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    357
    you should wire your limit switches to the 'normally closed' terminal. that way if a wire comes off the machine stops.
     
  3. leversole

    leversole Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    14
    Switches are NC only...joint is good, dropped a cold blob on at the last minute!
     
  4. snokid

    snokid Master
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    99
    if they are NC then if a wire falls off the machine should stop when that happens.....
    Wire off = open contact.
     
  5. leversole

    leversole Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    14
    The machine will only stop if the switches are set for Homing + Limits...If set for homing only, loose wire does nothing, until you try to home the machine and it it crashes
     

Share This Page