Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

LAPTOP

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by 25ksuburban990, Mar 14, 2018.

  1. 25ksuburban990

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, just got to two small complete cnc machine from a yard sell, I now have a total of three but only have one laptop, can I take my laptop off one an hook it to another machine or do I have got more laptops
     
  2. Anthony Bolgar

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    179
    Should not be an issue.
     
  3. 25ksuburban990

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    11
    WAIT! If you have different CNC machines, they must have their own profiles in the software that operate them. Mach3 software allows you to have different profiles and launch the software with correct profile by using shortcuts. I don't know if software that operate machines that use GRBL code can be set up that way.
     
  5. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    955
    Likes Received:
    465
    Some of the GRBL controllers can have different set-ups that can be saved. However, GRBL panel should be able to be taken from machine to machine, because the machine settings (steps/mm, etc...) are stored in the arduino board. I used my laptop on both my CNC router (screw driven) and while testing the motors on my soon to be completed belt-driven laser cutter.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice