Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Just went all in with Estlcam!

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by Gary Caruso, Dec 11, 2017.

1. Gary Caruso

Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Volunteer
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

I've been using Estlcam now for a few months, really impressive CAM program, love it!

BUT I've been hesitant to reflash the Arduino Uno with the built in machine controller because my GRBL was tuned so well and I had zero issues with my system.

This weekend I gave it a try and was able to flash the Uno and get it running with no issues using the GRBL preset, the outputs and inputs worked fine.
    Version 11 is out on Beta and it has some improvements on the control GUI, I plan on trying that as well.

I'll document more after I have done a few cuts with it.

Would like to know who here is using it and what they think?
    Cheers
    Gary

MaryD likes this.
  2. David the swarfer

David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

I have been intending to try it out, but, time is in short supply.

3. Mike Piechowski

Builder

I have been generating my G-Code with EstlCam since I first built my C-Beam. For the projects I've been doing, it has worked very well.

I've not tried the machine controller portion of the software yet because I run my machine via BCNC on a Raspberry Pi3. Maybe I will try it some day, but since I use a Protoneer CNC hat on the Pi as my controller board, I'd have to change everything in order to do so.

4. Gary Caruso

Strange that this Control Software area doesn't seem to be linked to "new post"?

5. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder