Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

jog widget

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by KEITHABEAR, Sep 20, 2018.

  1. KEITHABEAR

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'm finished my Workbee 1510 build and trying to get the jog wedget working any help would be appreciated
     
  2. MaryD

    MaryD OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    637
    If your using OpenBuilds software, be sure to check out this wiring and software video
     
  3. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,601
    Likes Received:
    2,555
    Some things to check:
    1) Make sure driver is allowed through your PCs firewall (port 3000)
    2) Phone and PC on the same LAN (can ping each other)
    3) Browser to http://ipaddressofyourpcrunningdriver:3000 on the phone (the QR code tries to guess the IP but in some cases you may have more than one IP, or some esoteric networking config, in which case you should know which IP is the correct IP of the PC running the driver
     
    #3 Peter Van Der Walt, Sep 21, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2018
    MaryD likes this.
  4. KEITHABEAR

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have a Android phone does that make a difference
     
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,601
    Likes Received:
    2,555
    Not at all, literally any device, with a web browser, will load the page. It's just a little web page.

    So, you have the OpenBuilds machine driver up and running on your machine?
    1) If you open it and click Jog Widget, take a note of the IP: (or use a QR scanner app on your phone)

    ip.PNG

    2) Make sure your android phone is on the same LAN as the PC. We can't help you setup your local networking, so if that's an issue, contact your local IT technician to come help setup wifi/LAN
    3) Make sure OpenBuilds Machine Driver is allowed through the Windows Firewall (or any other 3rd party firewall, antivirus, etc you may be running on the machine). We can't help you setup your computer security so if that's an issue, contact your local IT technician to come help setup your firewall / etc
    4) On the phone, open a web browser and browse to the URL shown:

    Screenshot_2018-09-21-19-29-12-401_com.android.chrome.png
     
  6. KEITHABEAR

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    7
    Have it up and working thanks for the help
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  7. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,601
    Likes Received:
    2,555
    Sweeet!

    (protip, if you have a second computer on the LAN, you can also go to http://ipaddresshere:3000/ (Without the /jog) to get remote control (; hehe)
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  8. Mark Hibberts

    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    I had trouble with the Jog Widget on Windows 10 until i added a rule in Windows Defender to allow Port 3000, both incoming and outgoing. It worked fine after that.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt and Rick 2.0 like this.
  9. BSmith

    BSmith New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2021
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    When I visit the jog webpage on my phone I see the jog page, but when I click on an arrow nothing happens. I tried visiting localhost:3000 on the computer running openbuilds control and was able to see the full app in my browser (very cool) and I was able to jog it using the full control, but when I changed to localhost:3000/jog the buttons stopped responding and it acted like my phone. I made sure port 3000 was open in defender for both inbound and outbound connections.
     
  10. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,601
    Likes Received:
    2,555
    Are you up to date? V1.0.300 at the time of this post:

    https://raw.githubusercontent.com/OpenBuilds/OpenBuilds-CONTROL/master/CHANGELOG.txt
     
    #10 Peter Van Der Walt, Apr 17, 2021
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2021
  11. Lars Aarup Hansen

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi guys, could use a little help with the mobile jog feature, as I am hopeless with internet setup.

    1) I have the OpenBuilds web interface up and running on my laptop, and can jog and run CNC jobs from it :)
    2) From the same laptop I can access both the http://mylaptosipaddresshere:3000/ AND the http://mylaptopsipaddresshere:3000/jog, and the CNC responds to the jogging commands from both web pages :)
    3) I have opened TCP port 3000 with rules in windows defender, for both ingoing and outgoing
    4) I have checked my router to confirm that both my iPhone as well as my laptop are connected on the same wifi network
    5) I am running v 1.0.293 of Openbuilds

    6) Now, I type http://mylaptopsIPaddress:3000/jog on my iPhone, and I get timed out with 'the server is not responding...'
    I have also tried to ping my iPhones IP address from my laptop, but that request gets timed out.
    I have also tried to scan the QR code from the wizards open jog widget, but that address returns 'could not connect to the server'

    Any ideas what I might be doing wrong, and why the mobile jog wont work, when it works just fine from the laptop?
    Do I need to port forward anything?

    Kind regards
    Lars from Denmark
     
  12. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,601
    Likes Received:
    2,555
    W
    What Wifi router are you running? Some has a feature that prevents wifi clients from seeing which you can turn off.
     
  13. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,601
    Likes Received:
    2,555
    PS: Should be 1.0.301 (; - doesn't affect your issue, but still, good to be up to date. See OpenBuilds/OpenBuilds-CONTROL
     
  14. Lars Aarup Hansen

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    **** Peter, you are fast :)

    It's a Huawei 4G Router 3 Pro (B535-232) (so if you are listening in china feel free to join in :) )
    https://consumer.huawei.com/uk/support/wireless-routers/4g-router-3pro/

    I have gone through the settings, and found two were I could:
    1) deactivate 'IP domain filters', and
    2) deactivate 'IP address filters'
    so I did that, but without progress.
    However, I found a setting called 'activate WAN port ping', so I tried that, and now my laptop can ping the iPhone IP address, but still no cigar with the mobile jog.
    I'm struggling to understand how the mobile phone jog is supposed to connect and work together with the router/laptop/CNC. Can you explain that, then maybe I can figure out what to look for in the router settings.
     
  15. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,601
    Likes Received:
    2,555
    So, laptop gets an IP over DHCP, say for example 192.168.0.10
    Phone gets an IP over DHCP say for example 192.168.0.11

    From the phone, you browse to 192.168.0.10:3000/jog

    Its directly on the same LAN, nothing in between. Only firewalls (windows, any 3rd party ones installed) or the single wifi router you have, could block it. Its on the most basic level of local networking
     
  16. Lars Aarup Hansen

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    First of all, thanks to the OpenBuilds community, this is just a great place to get help and support - well done all :)
    Thanks to Peter for super-fast-help and putting me on the right track with the jog issue - it is now solved :) and works perfectly. Love my CNC lead 1010

    Using Peters guidance, I found an article that solved my issue. It was simply the Network Discovery option in windows 10 that was turned off.
    I trust the article can help others with similar issues, so link is attached:
    https://helpdeskgeek.com/networking/cannot-see-other-computers-on-network-in-my-network-places/
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice