Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

It is not cutting correct.

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Mightymike, May 5, 2021.

  1. Mightymike

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hello, i have a custom build cnc which i bought from a local store. The problem i have is this: it is cutting most of the drawing correct, but in random time, when it is cutting a square, its turning left 2-5mm earlier (and sometimes down), moving all the cut left and down by 2-5mm. I will attach a photo, and i will also include the gcode if you can find something wrong.

    Thank you in advance.

    IMG_20210505_211135.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,253
    Likes Received:
    4,164
    Check your pulleys/shaft coupler setscrews - a drop of loctite between the coupler and motor shaftleadscrew or motorshaft and pulley also helps. It looks like slipping
     
  3. Mightymike

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    when i draw a square from Openbuilds Cam, it is cutting it with no problem.

    is it possible that the file (svg) i am using to have problem?
     
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,253
    Likes Received:
    4,164
    The toolpath would preview with the error present if it was a file issue. It does not. This is mechanical.

    Assuming you are using OpenBuilds BlackBox and our Motors of course? If not, could be Mechanical or Electronic. Or if you didn't buy from us, could also be Grbl settings (our parts are high performance, so the profiles match)

    But, when we see this issue, its usually mechanical, and then usually: setscrews slipping on motor shaft, leadscrew side, or pulleys shipping on motor shaft (you didn't mention what machine you have, so mentioning both) - for fear of stripping people undertighten the grubscrews.
    If those are tight, gripping the endmill and giving it a wiggle will help you see what else is loose / badly adjusted
     
  5. Mightymike

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    No sorry this cnc machine it is not using your motors or blackbox.

    This is the cnc
    IMG_20210505_214704.jpg

    Grub screws are tightI gave it a wiggle but i dont feel something is loose.

    Is there anything else i can check?
     
  6. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,253
    Likes Received:
    4,164
    Are you using our Grbl Settings profiles?
    If so, dial down acceleration and max rates to about 50% of current values.
    Whatever controller you are using, is it able to power the motors properly?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice