Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Is anyone using the CNC xPRO V4 Board?

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Groundhog, Jan 10, 2019.

  1. Groundhog

    Groundhog New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am in the planning stages of a build and I am considering the CNC xPRO V4 board. Is this board compatible with any type USB port? If you have used it how did it perform?
     
  2. BRIBECK

    BRIBECK New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry I cannot help. My guess is yes, that it would be compatible. I am a rookie at this stuff...but it is fun. Looking forward to a lifelong hobby/profession.
    I bought the V4 as well. I discovered that it is made by Spark Concepts. Their website does not have a user manual or the likes...I guess that can be expected in the DIY world. Not much on GitHub either.

    I want to control it with a joystick that is wired to an Arduino...Does anyone know the proper method of connecting an arduino to the V4 CNC board?
     
  3. BRIBECK

    BRIBECK New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    ...one more thing. You can submit questions to Spark Concepts through their website....just Google them.
     
  4. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    267
    It uses a standard printer type usb cord, and usb 2.0 would be plenty.
    Cheers
    Gary
     
  5. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    267
    I don't think that will work, the Xpro is practically an arduino with GRBL pre-compiled on it.
    Use the arduino to drive some cheap steeper drivers, that is all you need, i have no idea how you would code that, though I'm sure you can find something already written.
     
  6. BRIBECK

    BRIBECK New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Gary,
    I need power for my project, that is why I am using the 1.8amp Open Build Nema-17 steppers.
    I tried running them with the adafruit motor shield without success.
    I need 4 motors which is why I went with the xPro v4.
    This can be controlled with an arduino.
    I just need to know how to Conect it. Someone from Spark concepts is helping me with that now.

    Have you ever connected an Arduino to a V4?
    I need to Learn how to code the arduino to talk to the V4 board...but first just trying to learn how to wire it properly.

    Thanks,

    Brian
     
  7. Spark Concepts

    Spark Concepts Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    87
    Hi folks,

    Figured I should jump in here - yes you can run the xPRO from an Arduino (or any other TxRx source). There are Tx Rx GND and CTS pin on the Aux IDC header that need to be connected. You can also provide 5V input through the AUX IDC as well OR flip the switch near the USB header to Bluetooth mode.

    Here is an example sketch:

    void setup() {
    // put your setup code here, to run once:
    Serial.begin(115200);}


    void loop() {
    // GRBL TX Communication Test
    delay(5000);
    if (Serial.available()) {
    Serial.println("G91");
    Serial.println("G0 X10");
    Serial.println("G90");

    Serial.println("G91");
    Serial.println("G0 Y10");
    Serial.println("G90");

    Serial.println("G91");
    Serial.println("G0 Z10");
    Serial.println("G90");

    delay(3000);
    Serial.println("G91");
    Serial.println("G0 X-10");
    Serial.println("G90");

    Serial.println("G91");
    Serial.println("G0 Y-10");
    Serial.println("G90");

    Serial.println("G91");
    Serial.println("G0 Z-10");
    Serial.println("G90");
    }
    }

    Notes:
    0. See test code below (Ensure UNO is disconnected from xPro while uploading sketch):
    1. Ensure TX/RX from xPro to UNO are correctly connected (as shown in image)
    2. Ensure Ground from xPro to UNO Gnd
    3. Ensure CTS from xPro is connected to Gnd on UNO to activate TX/RX - if xPro is primarily run from USB to PC, this pin can also be toggled on/off from Arduino UNO (if using as a jogger) while still remaining connected to the sender program.
    4. Ensure xPro 12-24V (communication switch to blue-tooth -or- external USB to 5V brick)
    5. Ensure UNO is powered

    Pictures for wiring:

    AUX IDC pinout (note key position)
    20190125_221845.jpg


    AUX IDC wiring (large picture attaches)
    20190125_214412.jpg

    Full picture
    20190125_215016.jpg

    Enjoy!
     
    Gary Caruso likes this.
  8. Steve007

    Steve007 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    This looks like a good thread to ask the following question...
    I'm in the process of building a workbee 1010. I've done all the mechanical stuff, which is my strong suit, but now I'm at the electronics which is not my strong suit. I'm following the openbuilds YouTube videos on the build and I've got all the wiring done. I've downloaded openbuilds control software successfully, but my first issue is connecting the xpro v4 to my laptop. The control software doesn't recognize the serial port, it says "waiting on usb" and gives no options. My xpro is set as is from the package, I haven't moved any jumpers or flipped any switches. My laptop is running windows 10, 64 bit. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have extensive knowledge with cnc equipment, but I'm a complete noob with the electronics side.

    Thanks
     
  9. Award

    Award Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    24
    Hello Steve,

    I've only got an xPro v3 but I have Windows 10, 64 bit and if I remember correctly I had to install the FTDI drivers: Virtual COM Port Drivers

    Hope this helps

    Adam
     
  10. Steve007

    Steve007 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'll give that a try and see if it works. Thanks Adam.
     
  11. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    594
    Yes. You need either the drivers installed, or the Arduino IDE software which contains the drivers. I switched computers once and it took me a day to figure out what happened. :banghead:
     
    Steve007 likes this.
  12. ljvb

    ljvb Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2019
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    23
    Or dual boot and run Linux... I setup cncjs last night with the xpro v4 and it works flawlessly. But yes, you need the appropriate drivers for windows.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice