Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

"I" Beam Profile

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Carl Kerttu, Jan 10, 2016.

1. Carl Kerttu

Builder

I would like to contribute to the design for some of the larger format CNC Routers out there. My plan is to build a minimum 2ft x 4ft router and be able to index sheets across the 4ft x axis. I have seen multiple builds bolting together 20x80 extrusion but thought this may be of value to some. My Idea is to have a vertical 20x80 and then horizontal 20x60 extrusions on the top and bottom. I would drill and counter bore the 20x60 in the center slot, flat position and then run M5 cap screws to t-nuts on the vertical ends of the 20x80. This would create a fairly strong "I" Beam profile. I'm a machinist and have a full shop at my disposal, so building it isn't a problem for me.

Right now I am looking at using the extreme mini v-wheels. There will be more than the 8 wheels on the picture, probably at least 4 more to lock in the inside of the I Beam. What are peoples thoughts on the Mini V? Would it be better to go with the standard V Wheel? The ratings on the larger bearings are several times higher but does it matter?

Let me know what peoples thoughts are on doing it this way. I plan to start a build log as soon as I get some more drawn up but would like to know what others think of it first.

Carl X Axis Profile View.JPG X Axis Profile View.JPG

2. Florian Bauereisen

Florian Bauereisen Well-Known
    Builder

Hi,
    sorry if i get you wrong (not a native english speaker).

but if you drill all the way through, you are atually going to perforate the whole setup right along centerline and thus i doubt a gain in strenth.
    If you drill just the top / bottom "chamber" and screw into there i doubt the material to be strong enough to actually carry the screws once the machine runs. Without - you know "wiggling" out / working lose..from vibration /accel/ decel.

Just thinking loud