Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

How big should the OX be????

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by thunter_24, Dec 31, 2014.

1. thunter_24

Builder

Hey guys I'm new to this CNC thing. I have been reading through the forums and checking out all the sweet builds. I have a question regarding size? My minimum would be 2x4. Was thinking of maybe going 4x4 or 4x8. I wanna use it for all kinds of projects from signs to building guitar parts. I also like to build furniture so i woiuld probably use it to do some custom designs on doors and things like that. Is it worth going up to 4x4 or even a 4x8? I'm not to worried about cost cause i'm gonna take my time building it. I only wanna build one cnc and don't wanna undersize it. Also I'm gonna need a set of ox plates. Do they vary in size if you go bigger or can i ask someone to cut them for me? Was thinkin I would contact Chris. Seems like everyone really likes his plates! Thanks guys. Alot of great info on this site and it has me pumped to start this project!!!

Travis

2. GrayUK

GrayUK Openbuilds Team Elder
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

Ah. The ultimate question. How big?? :confused:
    Firstly. You could make it as big as you want, but, the cost is going to be structural flexing, and therefore variation in repeat cutting. However, this can be overcome by proportionally increasing the strength and overall weight of the machine. You will need to take in to consideration such things as the motors, and drivers, you will need to move heavier weight etc.
    Secondly, the type of drive mechanism, ie, belts for lighter machines, and rack and pinion, or lead screws, for heavy duty work.
    It is great you have been bitten by the CNC bug, like the rest of us, and that you can see the many, many, possibilities that these machines can be put to. :thumbsup:
    However, don't jump in just yet. Do read more of the Forum chat.