Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

help with controller software

Discussion in 'Other Software' started by MikieLikesIt, Aug 15, 2015.

  1. MikieLikesIt

    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm a new beginner and have a problem understanding what it is that I need to get my cnc router hooked up[​IMG] and running.
    First of all I have an older computer to run the machine with. I do my cad stuff with a newer PC. The older PC has windows XP home version. I went and purchased xPro hoping that it would work with this older PC. It is not installed yet or even taken out of the package. I was hoping I could use it with Mach 3, at which I have not purchased yet. I have attached two pics of my older PC if that helps. I am[​IMG] at a stand still and not sure what to do. If there is someone out there willing to help it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Joe Santarsiero

    Joe Santarsiero OB addict
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    168
    Mike. don't unpack that xp pro just yet. If your pc can already get online then download the mach3 trial to see if it runs okay. You can also download the installer on another pc and transport it over to your machine pc via flash drive. Mach is around 26Mb. Mach3 will let you run 500 lines of code for trial.

    Joe
     
  3. Tweakie

    Tweakie OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    298
    Taken from the Artsoft website (http://www.machsupport.com/software/mach3/) ...

    Software Requirements

    Mach3 Minimum Recommended Requirements:
    Requirements if using the parallel port for machine control:
    • Desktop PC (Laptops are not supported) with at least one parallel port
    • 32-bit version of Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows Vista, or Windows 7 (64-bit versions will not work)
    • 1Ghz CPU
    • 512MB RAM
    • Non-integrated Video Card with 32MB RAM(Large G-code files, especially 3D files will require a video card with 512MB RAM or higher)
    Requirements if using an external motion device for machine control:
    • An appropriate external motion controller (options can be found on the Plugins page)
    • Desktop or Laptop with Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7, or Windows 8
    • 1Ghz CPU
    • 512MB RAM
    • Video Card with 32MB RAM(Large G-code files, especially 3D files will require a video card with 512MB RAM or higher)

    I don't know if this helps.

    Tweakie.
     
    Mark Carew likes this.

Share This Page