Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Help required Mach3 distance calibration

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by David Higginbottom, Jun 17, 2018.

  1. David Higginbottom

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello
    i am completely new to this game and to be honest struggling.
    I have built an Open Builds Mini Mill.
    I am trying to calibrate the axis movement in mm.
    Units selected are mm.
    I have gone into 'settings' in Mach3 and selected 'Set steps per unit'
    i have selected the appropriate axis and set movement to 1mm.
    The axis moves 40mm !!!!!
    What am I doing wrong?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated

    Thanks

    Dave Higginbottom
     
  2. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    203
    What do you have your micro-step set to on your drivers?
     
  3. David Higginbottom

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Gary
    1/2 step
     
  4. HC.Carbo

    HC.Carbo Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    96
    put it on 1/8 :)
     
  5. HC.Carbo

    HC.Carbo Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    96
    or @ mach configure >motors set Set steps per unit 1/4 from what you have now.
    here 1/32 = 791 Set steps per unit
    1/64= 1582 Set steps per unit
     
  6. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    203
    On 1/8th you would have 200steps per mm
     
  7. HC.Carbo

    HC.Carbo Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    96
    my a/b are @ 1/8, set @106.6500 steps per unit
     
  8. HC.Carbo

    HC.Carbo Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    96
    in mach3 there is a tab in to set it right.
    check some YouTube video's how to do :)

     
  9. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    203
    Is that with a TR8*8 screw?
    With a TR8*8 the lead is 8mm (8mm travel per turn)
    at no micro-step it would be 200/8 = 25 steps per inch
    1/4 = 100
    1/8 = 200 ( just like Martin's example in the video)
    Cheers
    Gary
     
  10. HC.Carbo

    HC.Carbo Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    96
    no, that is with a 1/6 trunnion :)

    think starting with 200 & then tweaking would do the job :)
    don't forget to close Mach & your controller after changes.(can help)

    i just check it again: set to 792 @ 1/32 comes pretty close (c-beam xl)
    @ 1/8 = 198

    Cheers+good luck,
     
  11. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    433
     
    HC.Carbo likes this.
  12. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    433
    and GRBL settings calculator for the basic numbers, then use the video procedure to fine tune.
    oh i know it says grbl but the calculation of steps/mm is the same!
     
  13. HC.Carbo

    HC.Carbo Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    96
    good one David, has everything.
    LOL never looked to the steps per revolution of my steppers :D soooo NOOB :) :)
     
  14. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    433
    technically you don't need to know (but it does help).
    most steppers are 200steps/rev, so if you calculate using that and it goes half the expected distance, then you know it is a 400 step per rev motor (which tend to be used in laser cutters, maybe they vibrate less?).

    but you can start with everything unknown and just set the steps/mm to '1' ....
    your first calibration attempt will not move far but will get you in the ballpark and then you will need to do it again 2 or 3 times to narrow it down to something useful.
     
    GrayUK and HC.Carbo like this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice