Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

  1. LIVE In the LAB

    Dismiss Notice

Grinding noise

Discussion in 'Motors' started by GrandpawB, Dec 1, 2016.

  1. GrandpawB

    GrandpawB Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have a 380-oz-in-nema-23-stepper-motor (380 oz-in NEMA 23 Stepper Motor, 1/4" Shaft | CNCRouterParts) that I use as an A axis motor. I have it slaved and reversed with the Y stepper to control the Y axis. The A axis stepper has a grinding noise as it starts and stops. It also gets hotter than the other two. I've tried adjusting in Mach3's motor control and also on the G540 controller. I also noticed when the G540's ready light switches to red and everything shuts down, it's this stepper that causes the problem. Any suggestions or just a bad stepper?
     
  2. Joe Santarsiero

    Joe Santarsiero OB addict
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    189
    Are the Y and A motors identical?
     
  3. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    691
    Do a bit of motor swapping and that'll tell you if it's the motor or something prior like the wiring or the driver. You might also check the resistor at the end of the cable.
     
  4. GrandpawB

    GrandpawB Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes, the two motors are identical.
     
  5. GrandpawB

    GrandpawB Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    3
    I don't have resistors at the end of my cables. Mine are Plug N Play.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    691
    The resistors are built into the cables. Ref: CNC Motor Cable | CNCRouterParts The reason I asked is because this sounds similar to something discussed about 2 1/2 years ago. Added Resistors the Z.

    Sounds like a power issue so time to isolate where it's happening.
     

Share This Page