Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Estlcam V11

Intuitive CAM software

  1. Anthony Bolgar

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    151
    Anthony Bolgar submitted a new resource:

    Estlcam - Intuitive CAM software

    Read more about this resource...
     
  2. Mehadi Saki

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    I am using Estlcam v10 with Arduino uno and GRBL1.1
    I face some problem. Plz anyone help me.

    Problem 1- How to use low power triggered relay for Spindle on/off?

    Problem 2- How I use PWM output for spindle? I mean wiring of spindle. Is there need any external PWM hardware? I need more details.

    Thanks
     
  3. Christian Knüll

    Christian Knüll Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    31
    Hello,

    are you using GRBL1.1 or Estlcam itself to control the machine?

    Relays with low = on input logic are not suitable for this application - you should get the usual high = on types.
    PWM output circuit depends on spindle type.

    Christian
     
  4. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    402
    I want to give this program a try. Currently I use GRBL Panel and I like that I can use lots of different CAD programs to generate G-code (Fusion 360, Sketchucam, F-Engrave, etc...) and it runs great in GRBL Panel. If I hit the "Program the Arduino' tab, do I no longer have the ability to use GRBL Panel? Just curious. I noticed there is a "Restore Controller" button. It probably will not be critical since it looks like I can import any .nc file I have made thus far. I am just hesitant to completely get rid of what I have. The thought has crossed my mind to just make the Arduino accessible and pop a spare Atmega chip on, but that seems excessive. ;)

    In Estlecam, there are boxes for steps/revolution and Distance per revolution.
    Untitled.jpg
    I have 3/8" - 8 four-start acme precision screws that travel 12.7 mm per revolution (1/2"). . . theoretically. So for 1/8 microstepping 200/12.7 = 15.748 (steps/mm without microstepping) * 8 (micro steps) = 125.984 steps/mm. However, when I calibrated the screw, I came up with 125.735 steps/mm. Or, 15.716875 steps/mm without 1/8 microstepping (125.735/8).

    Am I correct in my math when I do the calculation 200/15.716875 = 12.725175965324, or as Estlecam rounds it = 12.73 mm per revolution? I would like to get the settings as accurate as possible. Right now in GRBL Panel I have the following settings:

    X axis 125.735 x, steps per mm
    Y axis 125.946 y, steps per mm
    Z axis 125.735 z, steps per mm

    Thanks for any help!

    -Craig
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    198
    That kind of difference of calculated vs calibrated is typical and fine.
    I've been wanting to try the Estlcam sender myself because i want to try the drag knife feature.
    I just have not been able to get the Estlcam to see my board for some reason? I'm nervous to hit that program too!
    I have not seen a good video on using the drag knife or the sender.

    This video is good on arduino setup
     
    #5 Gary Caruso, Oct 29, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2017
  6. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    402
    Thanks.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice