Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Designing with aluminium extrusion

Discussion in 'CAD' started by Colm, Nov 20, 2017.

1. Colm

Colm New
    Builder

Hello

I'm new to building CNC machines and by older brother recently was interested in buying a X-Carve. Once i googled it i thought it looked rather weak and ended up signing up to open builds in hope of building him something much stronger. I really liked Kyo's Sphinx design and after reading through his build I'm comfortable to build it.

The issue i have now is that by brother needs something much larger. So i have been looking at using stronger profiles like 80/20 and some HIWIN rails.

Can someone suggest what software I should be using to flesh out the design of the build? A program that has the profiles in its database or maybe one that i could import the files into for the extrusions?

I understand i will need some CAD software anyway once i have the CNC built and thought Fusion 360 would be good as it covers both the CAD and CAM. Maybe i should invest in Fusion early and use that to design the build too ?

I would also like to present mu build visually so the members of this forum could pick at some areas of the build Im struggling with.

Thanks for your time

Colm Boorman

#1 Colm, Nov 20, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2017
  2. Joe Santarsiero

Joe Santarsiero OB addict
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

Hi Colm,
    Welcome to the forum. Many members here are using sketchup with the sketchucam add-on or fusion 360. You should try both. They're both free.

Joe

Mark Carew and Colm like this.
  3. Colm

Colm New
    Builder

Thanks Joe. I left SketchUp and fusion 360 downloading last night... I only realised it was free to hobbyists (fusion360) just before bed. Will grab that add-on once home too.

I'm familiar with inventor and it's general work flow so I hope the cross over is painless.

Thanks for your help!

4. Gary Caruso

Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Volunteer