Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

cnc xpro v3 problems

Discussion in 'Controller Boards' started by RAzvan, Apr 18, 2017.

  1. RAzvan

    RAzvan New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys.
    I recently received mu ox cnc that came with the CNC xpro Controller. I bought the OX from OOznest. Everything went well with the assembly but the electronics don't seem to work properly. Here is my issue. I have done everything by the book : Checked and rechecked the stepper wires on the board , checked the power supply voltage and it's bang on 24 V . I downloaded universal g code sender and the drivers for the board and i was able to connect to the board . I requested a $$ command and the board showed me its settings . I changed all the settings of the board as shown in apendix B in the Manual and every setting was saved properly . The first time i powered the board up ( this was before i did the changes in grbl ) the motors made a terrible whistle like sound , but , using the machine control panel , i was able to jog its axes. After i made the changes in grbl , as said in the Instruction Manual , the board stopped working . I have no motion what so ever. I tried adjusting the potentiometers on the board but nothing . The board connects to Universal Gcode and every single time it replies With oke when i star the connection . What is the ISSUE?
    these are the settings of the board.

    $0=10 (step pulse, usec)
    $1=255 (step idle delay, msec)
    $2=0 (step port invert mask:00000000)
    $3=6 (dir port invert mask:00000110)
    $4=0 (step enable invert, bool)
    $5=0 (limit pins invert, bool)
    $6=0 (probe pin invert, bool)
    $10=3 (status report mask:00000011)
    $11=0.020 (junction deviation, mm)
    $12=0.002 (arc tolerance, mm)
    $13=0 (report inches, bool)
    $20=0 (soft limits, bool)
    $21=0 (hard limits, bool)
    $22=0 (homing cycle, bool)
    $23=1 (homing dir invert mask:00000001)
    $24=25.000 (homing feed, mm/min)
    $25=500.000 (homing seek, mm/min)
    $26=250 (homing debounce, msec)
    $27=1.000 (homing pull-off, mm)
    $100=26.667 (x, step/mm)
    $101=26.667 (y, step/mm)
    $102=200.000 (z, step/mm)
    $110=2500.000 (x max rate, mm/min)
    $111=2500.000 (y max rate, mm/min)
    $112=2500.000 (z max rate, mm/min)
    $120=50.000 (x accel, mm/sec^2)
    $121=50.000 (y accel, mm/sec^2)
    $122=50.000 (z accel, mm/sec^2)
    $130=320.000 (x max travel, mm)
    $131=525.000 (y max travel, mm)
    $132=68.000 (z max travel, mm)

    IF i change $1=25 , the motors lock up and make that whistle sound , but when i try to move the cnc in jog mode , the whistle stops for a second and unlocks the motors , and then ,locks them back . What is wrong ?
    The power supply is the one provided by Ooznest with the kit 24 V , 14,6 A
    Motors nema 23 ( Motech Motor MT-2303HS280AW-c ) 175 oz , 2.8 A
     
  2. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    419
    why do you want to change the $1? when you say "the whistle stops" is it turning at that point or no?
    Did you double check that you are connecting the motors correctly? make sure to have the two coil wire pairs together on A and B
    you can easily check which wires are pairs with ohm meter or by shorting two wires together at a time and see if the motor takes more resistance to turn..
     
  3. RAzvan

    RAzvan New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Done this many times ... thanks
     
  4. RAzvan

    RAzvan New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    It does not turn when the whistle stop . It doesn't even move one bit .
     
  5. RAzvan

    RAzvan New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  6. RAzvan

    RAzvan New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    spoken to Ooznest and this was their reply :
    With the latest xPro boards $4 needs to be set 1. I believe this to be the cause of your issue.
    Problem solved .
     
  7. Andyj2896

    Andyj2896 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1

    I am having this same problem. I have red and yellow lights by each of the drivers on the xpro. I changed $4 = 1 and I still have not gotten anything
     
    ClemC likes this.
  8. Ryan Lock

    Ryan Lock Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    286
    Hi,

    Could i get a printout of your settings? Have you got one of our machines?

    Ryan
     
  9. Andyj2896

    Andyj2896 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Here are my settings:



    $0=10
    $1=255
    $2=0
    $3=6
    $4=1
    $5=0
    $6=0
    $10=3
    $11=0.020
    $12=0.002
    $13=0
    $20=0
    $21=0
    $22=0
    $23=1
    $24=25.000
    $25=500.000
    $26=250
    $27=1.000
    $30=1000
    $31=0
    $32=0
    $100=0.000
    $101=26.667
    $102=200.000
    $110=2500.000
    $111=2500.000
    $112=2500.000
    $120=50.000
    $121=50.000
    $122=50.000
    $130=1320.000
    $131=1320.000
    $132=68.000

    It seems like when first booted up everything is fine, but when I go to jog on any axis, its like the xpro gets locked up. I cannot get settings or give any commands for that matter. All the lights are red on the back of the xpro besides the 2 y stepper lights. They are red and yellow.
     
  10. Ryan Lock

    Ryan Lock Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    286
    I think it could be because $100 = 0.00, it needs to equal 26.667
     
  11. ClemC

    ClemC New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there,
    Same for me, tried to hard reset the board, soft reset the program, double checked the wires not results.
    Once the Ox is launched and the computer connected, everything looks fine, only green lights and no noise (except fans). bu if I push the Y command (+ or - with the buttons or the keyboard arrows), the left Y motor is no longer working, and the board shows red leds on both Y motors.
    I tried to troubleshoot to the point I was about to flash the card GRBL... but went here as a last chance not to mess up completely the board.

    will be soon next to the machine and able to provide pics and snapshots of G-Code sender setup if needed.

    Thanks in advance for your help.
    Clem
     
  12. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    419
    Sounds like you don’t have the coils matched up to the driver outputs.? The board is happy until it tries driving a motor.
     
  13. ClemC

    ClemC New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for this invstigation trail to follow Gary.

    Also, I'm usin a Mac and it has been a pain in the back to manage opening USB port... I finally had to reinstall OSX completely (had some little programs for FTDI Arduino chips messing up I guess) everything was working fine (testing only) at the beginning until I misstype thenumber of steps and had my Y axis trying to get out of the OX...
    I had to stop that (motors were forcing) and had not yet installed an emergency bumper at that time so no other choice but tu unplug the machine....Maybe this caused too many errors or missed steps and freaked out the board?
     
    #13 ClemC, Dec 19, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2017
  14. ClemC

    ClemC New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dear All, after a complete removal of the Vpro (to put it into a box far away from dust), everything is now working good.
    Apparently you were right Gary, I swapped two cables and it just messed up. My mistake.
    Thank you for your time and kind attention in replying,
    May you all have pretty, funny, pleasant, happy new year Eve!
     
  15. bryan robbins

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2021
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi im glad you have sorted your problem i have the same machine but having problems downloading the g code sender what are you using thanks bryan
     
  16. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    8,075
    Likes Received:
    2,671
    Use CONTROL from OpenBuilds Software - FREE Software for CNC Control: OpenBuilds CONTROL and OpenBuilds CAM

    If you need a new controller, checkout the OpenBuilds BlackBox (see https://docs.openbuilds.com/blackbox for the documentation) - a big upgrade from what you have now, and a lot easier to wire, easier to use, and easier to troubleshoot
     
  17. bryan robbins

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2021
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I’ve been told by ooznest my machine is an older one it has the black box and it is a OX xpro and I need to use a classic control panel I’m totally lost will include a couple of pictures thank you Bryan
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,890
    Likes Received:
    915
    @bryan robbins, according to the message from Ooznest they think that you have the Xpro V3 controller. That uses standard grbl so @Peter Van Der Walt 's advice to try Openbuilds Control would be a good option.
    Alex.
     
  19. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    8,075
    Likes Received:
    2,671
    So, you have a BlackBox: This one?

    [​IMG]|

    Or

    Spark Concepts xPro V3 This one:

    [​IMG]


    For both then the above applies:

    Also see the following documentation pages:

    Software:
    Software overview docs:software:overview [OpenBuilds Documentation]
    OpenBuilds CONTROL intro docs:software:openbuilds-control [OpenBuilds Documentation]
    Hello World - first project: docs:blackbox:hello-world [OpenBuilds Documentation]

    Hardware:
    OpenBuilds BlackBox Documentation: docs:blackbox:start [OpenBuilds Documentation]
    or
    Spark Concepts xPro V3 Documentation: Home · Spark-Concepts/xPRO Wiki
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice