Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Cnc xpro v3 issues

Discussion in 'Controller Boards' started by Wunders, Aug 24, 2017.

  1. Wunders

    Wunders New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have recently built a new cnc machine using the cnc xpro v3, however I'm having a few problems.
    Firstly it doesn't seem to be cutting to the desired size, I'm trying to cut a 100mm square but it's creating a 101mm square hole.
    The machine uses 4 nema 23 motors (cloning y axis), 4 start 2mm thread 8mm diameter lead screw, my $100/$101/$102 is set to 200 and the microstep on the board is set 1/8 (I'll try and get some pictures of my $$ output)
    Secondly after using it all day it will produce some strange movements, it will periodically not turn one of the y axis motors or even stranger turn it the wrong way!
    Additionally it will restart itself mid job and reset the work and machine position.

    Any help or pointing towards another thread will be greatly appreciated
     
  2. phil from seattle

    phil from seattle Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    11
    On the first issue, assuming you are factoring in tool size, I'd guess that your lead screws are off by 1% (101/100). Try measuring how far it actually moves when you jog it 100 (or 200) mm.

    The second issue sounds like an electronics heat problem. Try testing different parts of your controller and drivers when that happens. I got an infrared contactless thermometer to monitor my electronics on various projects (not super accurate but good enough to tell if there is a problem or not).
     
  3. Rock Monster

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also have just received a CNC Xpro V3 board. first thing I did was mount a 60 x 60 x 15mm high flow fan on it. As far as random moves, buggy behavior, I have not had any issues. I'm sure you have used all shielded wiring, but sometimes its missed as to how to tie the shields into the ground plane. Make sure you leave the shield end at the motors and limit switches floating (insulated), and any other DC powered devices for that matter. You want it to float because its DC. Tie the other end to chassis ground and make sure that ground goes all the way back to the panel. Don't allow any connection between your DC power supplies ground and the AC chassis ground. This will cut out any stray voltage that can make gremlins.
     
  4. Twenty7designs

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am also having an issue now, not sure how to start a thread yet. Basically machines been working well for a few weeks then last night my x axis stepper (nema23) just wouldn't move. It rumbles a bit and stops. I've tried uploading new firmware, messing with settings, and when I unlock motors I can manually turn it by hand smoothly.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    784
    Likes Received:
    362
    you need to CALIBRATE it
    HOWTO Calibrate your CNC Machine for MACH3 or GRBL

    because leadscrews are not totally accurate.
    probably getting too hot. the xPro v3 has a pin header for a PC fan, use it (-:
     
  6. Chillimonster

    Chillimonster Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    21
    I found my CNC X Pro was mis-behaving when i was using my shop vac to clear away dust whilst cutting and the vac tool touched the machine frame. Might be static causing the CNC to 'crash' and restart (Must get that dust extraction sorted properly when i get chance - i'm posting a thread up about that soon)
     
  7. Garrett Groll

    Garrett Groll Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    5
    Does anyone know of a tutorial video I can watch that shows how to slave the A-axis to the X or Z Axis. It's slaved to the Y-axis by default. I'm needing to slave the A-axis to the Z-axis. I've never soldered on a board before, so I'm going to need a video showing how. I have soldered 2 wires together to extend motor cabling though.

    I really need to know how to do this, so I'd even be willing to pay a small amount to someone that knows how to do this, to make a video tutorial.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The OpenBuilds Team is dedicated helping you to Dream it - Build it - Share it! Collaborate on our forums and be sure to visit the Part Store for all your Maker needs.


    [email protected]

  • Like us on Facebook

  • Support Open Source FairShare Program!

    OpenBuilds FairShare Give Back Program provides resources to Open Source projects, developers and schools around the world. Invest in your future by helping others develop their future.

    Donate to Open Source