Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

CNC Electronics Enclosure Schematic

Discussion in 'General Electronics' started by Sean Griffiths, Apr 14, 2021.

  1. Sean Griffiths

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    14
    Hi all,

    I have built an electronics enclosure for my CNC router, incorporating a estop circuit and relays for dust extraction and spindle coolant pump (24vdc & 240v ac circuits). But I’m finding some stray voltages in lines where there shouldn’t be.

    I have created a schematic of what I’ve built, and was wondering if someone might be able cast their eyes over it and see if I’m missing something?

    Note, I’m based in the UK (ie. 240v)

    Many thanks in advance...
     

    Attached Files:

    Justin3968 likes this.
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,246
    Likes Received:
    4,161
    Which lines, how much voltage?
     
  3. ljvb

    ljvb Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2019
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    87
    A mac died for that... *pours one out for the mac*

    Otherwise.. good job.
     
  4. Sean Griffiths

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    14
    Peter,
    An example is when the contractors are energised, 240v ac is present when I test the 24v dc black box psu line to Earth.
     
  5. Sean Griffiths

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    14
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Sean Griffiths

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    14
    It’s been reborn!
     
  7. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,246
    Likes Received:
    4,161
    Yikes! Power off now! :)

    Step 1) Remove the expensive electronics from the case until you fixed the issue (warranty won't cover that kind of damage, I think)

    Step 2) Isolate the source of the short - thats not induced, its a short of some sort - seeing as it gets to the 24v line, I'd start by removing mains supply from the 24v PSU and seeing if it goes away. Continue onward if it doesnt until you find what does. Would have been easy if each section had its own breaker in a Distribution fashion (;
     
  8. Sean Griffiths

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    14
    Yeah, ‘stray voltage’ was a bit of an understatement ;D

    good idea about omitting the 24v PSU for troubleshooting. I’ll pick this up tomorrow and post any results.
     
  9. Sean Griffiths

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    14
    I pulled it to pieces today, testing every element.

    Turns out the plugable relay module for the coolant/dust extractor circuit was essentially single throw. So it was combining the two voltages at the common contacts. *face palm*

    Otherwise, the schematic works as expected.
     
  10. ljvb

    ljvb Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2019
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    87
    That could have ended very badly. Glad you caught that.

    It's also a good lesson, different electronic components can often look the same but function very differently, know exactly what you are getting.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice