Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Cbeam Machine Motors won't Respond

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by barkea2_Aaron, Sep 30, 2017.

  1. barkea2_Aaron

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I need help. I finished assembling the cbeam and i am using a grbl board. Now that I have gotten to the part in the 2 hour video that tells you to test the jogging of the machine, i have tried it and nothing happens. I know they are getting power because the light is on. But nothing. please help ill send a couple of screen shots that show my grbl settings and interface.

    I did notice that some of the lines from the grbl settings are missing as shown from the openbuilds example image.

    $14
    Then I have $30, $31, and $32 and the openbuilds example doesn't
    not sure if that matters but please help.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      124.2 KB
      Views:
      9
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      113.1 KB
      Views:
      9
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      114.8 KB
      Views:
      9
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Contest Winner! Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    117
    Hi.

    If you haven't come right yet, have a look at 5. Troubleshooting · Spark-Concepts/xPRO Wiki · GitHub
    We sent the XPRO guys the latest validated GRBL settings to post on their Wiki too. If your Grbl based board is not a XPRO, you can still use the guide to see which of your settings is different.
    Particularly, $4 tends to cause the issues you describe: Depending on your specific stepper driver - some needs $4=1, others $4=0

    If you need more help, reply with full details (which board, drivers, etc, pics of your setup may even help)
     
  3. barkea2_Aaron

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    upload_2017-10-30_23-16-1.png
    Now when I plug in the grbl board and press connect i get this dialog box. and nothing shows up in my grbl settings. I have the x pro. its as if i have taken a few steps back now
     
  4. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    271
    Are you running other programs at the same time? I will get crashes and that message sometimes when I have GRBL Panel open along with other programs.
     
  5. barkea2_Aaron

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just tried using the latest version for grbl panel and it got the settings back but I am still getting no movement out of my motors, even after the changes that were mentioned before in $4.
     
  6. barkea2_Aaron

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    would it be a power supply issue?
     
  7. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Contest Winner! Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    117
    Post some detailed photos of your wiring and setup
     
  8. barkea2_Aaron

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Attached are the images of the settings and the wiring. I noticed that i don't have line $14 but then i also have lines $30, $31 and $32 and the example doesn't have those three. Thanks for looking at this.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Contest Winner! Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    117
    Wiring looks OK, couple notes (some not related to the issue just general observations):

    1) Those thin wires between the PSU and Xpro will probably heat up once you get going. Think about it, 3 x drivers in use, 2.5A each - thats 7.5A. Invest in a little beefier wiring
    2) The motor's wiring has different colors to the ones we stock, so I cannot advise you whether a) its the correct motor (must be bipolar) or whether the wiring order is correct (check your motors' datasheets) (NB it can only supply max 2-2.5A (with a fan blowing on the board to prevent thermal cutout) per motor, and only to bipolar steppers.
    3) Check whether your XPRO is glossy or matt black: The matt finish boards, should have $4=0, the newer Glossy black V3s should have $4=1
    4) You are sure you unlocked Grbl with $X - it wont move till you do if its in an locked/alarm state
    5) Just to eliminate software a little further: Try connecting with Release v4.0.991-127 · LaserWeb/LaserWeb4-Binaries · GitHub (bonus in that its free CAM too for when you actually get cutting) (ignore the word laser, it does cnc and lathes too) - Grbl 1.1 = 115200 baud on the Connect tab
    6) $30,31,32 = related to lasers/pwm spindles so you can ignore that.
    7) Measure the output voltage of your power supply with a multimeter and make sure its outputting +-24v
    8) Check that your current potentiometers are turned to about halfway initially, the tweak it later (in case you accidentally turned it down to low it wont move the motors)
     

Share This Page