Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

can you figure it out ?

Discussion in 'CAM' started by hosa200, Jun 18, 2016.

  1. hosa200

    hosa200 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    I am trying to make this product in attachments on a machine with one linear axis and one rotary axis
    can anyone help?
    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Joe Santarsiero

    Joe Santarsiero OB addict
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    174
    What material and dimensions? How precise does it need to be? Explain this machine. Is it a lathe?
     
  3. hosa200

    hosa200 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is a close approach for what i mean
     

    Attached Files:

    • gg.PNG
      gg.PNG
      File size:
      39.1 KB
      Views:
      20
  4. Joe Santarsiero

    Joe Santarsiero OB addict
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    174
    So far It doesn't look possible. Based on the first picture you posted it appears the part requires either a 5axis or that the part be brought in contact with a large diameter tool. Could this be 3d printed? Will a holesaw work? Not enough info! If this is a caming mechanism where the tube edge is perpendicular with the tool all the way around then there may be a better chance with the equipment. If it's not a precision part then it could probably be done by hand. Idk.
     
  5. hosa200

    hosa200 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes the tool is large diameter (80 mm grinding tool) and it's perpendicular to thickness edge of the tube , the tube is 65mm diameter and 2 mm thickness and the height is vary
     
  6. hosa200

    hosa200 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem is that every g-code i try to generate from HSMworks have 3 linear axis working with each other + the rotation but i have only one axis + the rotation ,so my problem is with the g-code.
     
  7. Joe Santarsiero

    Joe Santarsiero OB addict
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    174
    Ahh I see. Yeah that's tricky. I might try to wrap it around a 4th axis with the part rotating on the 4th A axis. The X would follow the curve. Z would go towards the part axis, but is mainly fixed for grinding. In other words I'd treat it like a 4 axis mill over on its side. That should allow you to sync the part rotation with the tool following the curve.
    There's probably other ways to do it, but that's all I've got for now.
    Joe
     
    hosa200 likes this.
  8. hosa200

    hosa200 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you can use hsmworks or fusion 360 , i can post the progress i reached till now
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The OpenBuilds Team is dedicated helping you to Dream it - Build it - Share it! Collaborate on our forums and be sure to visit the Part Store for all your Maker needs.


    [email protected]

  • Like us on Facebook

  • Support Open Source FairShare Program!

    OpenBuilds FairShare Give Back Program provides resources to Open Source projects, developers and schools around the world. Invest in your future by helping others develop their future.

    Donate to Open Source