Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Calibrate axis using interface

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by Holley, Mar 14, 2022.

  1. Holley

    Holley New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trying to understand Calibration using interface and USB.

    Question is: after you calibrate axis, is that calibration stored in the Profile or is Blackbox firmware flashed?


    the reason I ask...

    I use Interface box (because OSX usb is wonky with micro controllers).
    Initially, I used an old PC windows laptop to calibrate axis to black box with interface disconnected.

    everything worked great!

    I just flashed profile to a new USB, from the OSX laptop ..and the y axis is off...
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    9,730
    Likes Received:
    3,092
    Stored on BlackBox. No need to recalibrate if you move to Interface, or between different Grbl host softwares etc.

    But do not load a profile though - thats for getting a new machine up and running - you did that in CONTROL back in the day, before calibrating. By reloading the profile you effectively "restored to factory defaults" for that machine profile overwriting whatever you had on BlackBox. Hook up PC, redo calibration.
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  3. Holley

    Holley New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5
    But you need Profile on a thumb drive to initialize thumb drive?
     
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    9,730
    Likes Received:
    3,092
    Are you referring to the "Preparing the USB drive" step? docs:interface:prepare-usb-drive [OpenBuilds Documentation] - yes you have to do that - it doesn't change your calibration or anything - it just puts files Interface may need like Probe macros and default profiles - onto the USB so you can access them later via the menus. It just copies it over.

    So you did not go to Tools and Utils > load Grbl profile (That would affect your calibration, and only applies to loading Profiles onto newly built machines)
     
  5. Holley

    Holley New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5
    So, question that “profile” contains calibration?
     
  6. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    9,730
    Likes Received:
    3,092
    Calibration (more importantly your Steps per mm value) is stored in Grbl's EEPROM (Grbl v1.1 Configuration · gnea/grbl Wiki) which is inside your BlackBox.

    You as the operator can save to the EEPROM using several methods
    • Using $x commands in a serial console
    • Using the Grbl Settings tab in CONTROL
    • Using the calibration wizard in CONTROL
    • Using Interface's Tools and Util menu > Load/Edit Grbl profile menu items
    You cannot change it by simply doing docs:interface:prepare-usb-drive [OpenBuilds Documentation]
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice