Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

C-Beam type finished but takes off in all directions

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Casey C. Neal, Jul 12, 2018.

  1. Casey C. Neal

    Casey C. Neal Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    If someone could toss a bone and tell me what I can do
    I have a c-beam type of machine
    using Grbl Panel
    arduino uno
    M335 drivers
    as soon as I try to run any program x,y,z run and max out in all directions
    {have not installed limit switches} yet
    all I can do is shut down power
    If someone could point me in the right direction I almost know nothing about cnc
    at this point it's scary to turn on...don't want to mess things up

    Thank to all that have any advice
     
  2. SugarJ

    SugarJ Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    28
    Post your Grbl settings and a picture of your wire connections. If all directions run at once whenever you try a move, some setting is probably inverted or you're wired wrong.
     
  3. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    207
    Does jogging work in all directions correctly?
     
  4. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    445
    Have you calibrated the steps per mm? Search CNC calibration. It sounds like your settings are wrong. Have you read the gnea/grbl ? It will tell you everything you need to know and when you run into a problem, It is a great reference
     
  5. Casey C. Neal

    Casey C. Neal Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for pointing at gnea/grbl
    just didn't know where to look for a manual or any advice
    I built this and understand the workings
    now I have to school myself and get it going
    thanks for your reply
     
  6. Casey C. Neal

    Casey C. Neal Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Jogging step by step each axis moves about an inch but when I try to test a nc file everything goes max z up, max y out and max x right
    looking into calibration settings
    just learning
     
  7. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    445
    Is there chance your gcode sender (Grbl panel) is set for inches rather than metric, but the file is in mm?
     
  8. Casey C. Neal

    Casey C. Neal Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Giarc
    I believe you were right. I changed to mm and also changed my drivers to 1/16 and the machine slowed way down
    I really am finding my way through this in the dark
    Again I have arduino uno, m335 drivers and am using grbl panel
    everything seems to be running each drive jogs fine ... I have just finished installing and wiring limit switches
    Configuring the switches now
    If I could bother you with some questions I have no one to talk about this to
    -Hard limits / Soft limits Hard is where your drive hits the frame and Soft is backing it off just before the limit switch... Yes / No
    -Offsets / I believe it's off to the side of your work area to change bits... Yes / No
    -Can you point me to someplace to help me lock in a homing postion and explain how to lock in limits
    Been reading up on all this on github but having a hard time understanding it
    Many thanks to you guys who help out us beginners
    Thank you
     
  9. HC.Carbo

    HC.Carbo Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    97
    no :)
    hard is when you use switches
    soft: you tell the software how far it may travel from the home position.
    hope this is correct :)
     
  10. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    445
    I would refer to this for hard and soft limits gnea/grbl. I do not currently use limit switches. I always start cutting in roughly the same location. I set my X0,Y0, and Z0 at that location, or on a work piece of known size. I have never had the need to worry about crashing because I do not push the boundaries of my machine since it is 665mm x 1270mm. I always put my gcode into a simulator (I use this web based one because I am too lazy to download one) to make sure things look right before starting.

    That being said, I just milled out a circuit board near the bottom of this page gnea/grbl, which uses optocouplers.
    [​IMG]
    I plan to finally wire up my limt/homing switches. They are installed, I just have never hooked them up because that seems to be a source of problems for many people. I wanted to make sure I knew how to use the machine really well before putting in an addition with a potential for problems. Also, I figure homing will be much more useful to me with my new laser build since you can't really use a touch plate with a laser. :)
     
    #10 Giarc, Aug 6, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2018

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice