Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Big OX 1500x1000

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Zach S, Jul 3, 2017.

  1. Zach S

    Zach S Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    16
    Zach S published a new build:

    Read more about this build...
     
  2. Zach S

    Zach S Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    16
    Assistance with grbl setting for the cnc xpro v3 would be greatly appreciated! I've tried different ones but to no avail. Set it to cut .25 inches and it cut .0249 inches.
    Any tips/suggestions?
     
  3. Taz-Digs

    Taz-Digs Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    What are you steps/mm on the axis. I am assuming this is for Z?
     
  4. Zach S

    Zach S Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    16
    I went back to the default grbl settings when the machine went crazy when I used the caculator for the settings. I'm using the openbuild nema 23's and the 8mm screw for the z
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Zach S

    Zach S Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    16
    A clip when i tried to home it with the caculated settings
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Taz-Digs

    Taz-Digs Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    This may be caused by the size movement of your machine. What is the config size machine you have. It finds Z and Y, but X looks like it may hit a soft limit for the X max travel.
     
  7. Zach S

    Zach S Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    16
    The config size? Is that the size of my machine? Sorry I'm totally new to the software aspect of this. Thanks for the help I really appreciate it
     
  8. Taz-Digs

    Taz-Digs Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    $130, (for x) Check this setting on your machine. GRBL only moves 1.5 times this setting in the X direction
     
  9. Zach S

    Zach S Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    16
    $130 is set to 200.00
     
  10. Zach S

    Zach S Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    16
    Setting as per the grbl caculatoris what I currently have.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Taz-Digs

    Taz-Digs Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Sorry we need to check $131, it is for Y. Check that, If it is not the distance of you Y distance that you can mill, it will not make it.
     
  12. Taz-Digs

    Taz-Digs Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    GRBL says the following for these settings.
    GRBL will give up searching for a limit switch after 1.5x the max travel distance. The max travel distance is controlled by $130, (for x), $131 (for y) and $132 (for z). These numbers are also used for soft-limits, and should be set slightly below the length of your axes.
     
  13. Zach S

    Zach S Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    16
    I have my soft limits disabled. Could it still be taking that into affect?
     
  14. Taz-Digs

    Taz-Digs Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    GRBL uses that for soft limits as well but it will not let homing go beyond 1.5X's of that distance. That is what I understand. If you turn on soft limits, it would stop the machine from moving farther then those distances. If you don't want to change it, move Y with in 300MM of the homing switch and it should home.
     
  15. Zach S

    Zach S Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    16
    I'm good on the homing issue for now thanks. But what about the depth of the cut settings? I my 2 inch test circle is set to a quarter inch and it's cutting .0249 and now it's only cutting a hole not even a circle.
     
  16. Taz-Digs

    Taz-Digs Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    your setting for $100-103 sets your steps/mm. According to your image, you have 26.667mm/step. What tooth count is no your X and Y pulley? What microstepping are you using? I have 80 for my setup. I have 1/16 microstepping, with a 2MM pitch belt with 20 tooth pulley. Check out this site for a calculator. These will get you close then you need to dial in the dimensions after that.
    RepRap Calculator - Prusa Printers
     
    James1949 likes this.
  17. Zach S

    Zach S Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    16
    Using the gt3 belt, 20 tooth pulley and 8 u steps
     
  18. Zach S

    Zach S Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    16
    When i punch it in the caculator that's what i got
     
  19. Taz-Digs

    Taz-Digs Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Calculated that is right, but if you are not milling a 2" circle either the gcode is wrong or the steps are wrong. Move the machine in one direction only and measure. If you have a MM ruler, you can set a engraving tool in the spindle, put it on 10MM and move it 50mm it should stop on 60mm. This is how to calibrate the steps. If it is smaller, maybe it set on 16. that would be 53.33?
     
  20. Taz-Digs

    Taz-Digs Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    for Z what lead screw do you have? The way I calibrate Z is to measure a 20MM aluminum extrusion. Set Z to 0 when touching the bed, then command a 20mm(or what it measures) up in Z. then see if the extrusion fits as snug as when touching Z.
     
  21. Zach S

    Zach S Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    16
    Ran it like you said an it lands on 60
     
  22. Zach S

    Zach S Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    16
    I have an 8mm lead screw from openbuilds
     
  23. Taz-Digs

    Taz-Digs Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    You should have 200 for the Z steps/mm. This is pulled off the openbuilds site. NOTE: With 4 starts the pitch will be 8. So 8 is what you would use for the pitch setting in the steps calculators..
     
  24. Taz-Digs

    Taz-Digs Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    What cad/cam software are you using. If you are getting the Y or X access on movement, then it is a program issue. Can you post the program you are running?
     
  25. Zach S

    Zach S Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    16
    The z is almost 5mm lower than the 20mm block
     

    Attached Files:

  26. Zach S

    Zach S Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    16
    For cad I'm using Vcarve pro and universal g code sender
     
  27. Zach S

    Zach S Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    16
    Changed my Z steps to 200
     
  28. Taz-Digs

    Taz-Digs Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    OK. Z should be good now. have to validate the gcode if the machine moves the amount that you request with no issues.
     
  29. Zach S

    Zach S Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    16
    The z axis is set and good to go
     
  30. Taz-Digs

    Taz-Digs Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Can you post the test file you tried?
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The OpenBuilds Team is dedicated helping you to Dream it - Build it - Share it! Collaborate on our forums and be sure to visit the Part Store for all your Maker needs.


    [email protected]

  • Like us on Facebook

  • Support Open Source FairShare Program!

    OpenBuilds FairShare Give Back Program provides resources to Open Source projects, developers and schools around the world. Invest in your future by helping others develop their future.

    Donate to Open Source