Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Bewildering... Could use general guidance on machine setup with BlackBox X32...

Discussion in 'Controller Boards' started by redmond, May 10, 2024.

  1. redmond

    redmond New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 8, 2024
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    We are building a machine that consists of the following:

    BlackBox X32

    A gantry that moves along the y-axis, driven by a stepper on each end (timing belt, not lead screw). A carriage on the gantry driven by a stepper. The carriage contains a standard RC servo and a linear actuator that is driven by two GPIO pins that should always be in opposite states.

    There will (ideally) be limit switches on both ends of both axes. Also: Our intention was to use the dual limit switches on the 'home' side of the Y axis to make sure the two Y axis steppers are in sync (so the gantry doesn't get racked by the two ends not being driven together. Basically when we home we want to see both limit switches hit.

    Current thought is:

    Drive X axis like any other normal x axis
    Drive linear actuator with the double throw relay output
    Drive servo with servo output

    I'm confused on how to handle the Y axis, particularly with respect to homing the two steppers individually.

    Does anyone have any advice on how to do this if it's even possible?

    [​IMG]
    upload_2024-5-10_14-24-51.png
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    Using AutoSquaring under http://svn.io-engineering.com:8080/?driver=ESP32&board=BlackBox X32 > Y-Axis dropdown > Auto Squared
    X switch wires to X Limit port
    Y1 switch wires to Y Limit port
    Z and Y2's switches wires in parallel to the Z Limit port (Z and Y moves seperate, so putting Y2 on Z allows firmware to check for it during the Y move)


    docs:blackbox-x32:connect-rc-servo [OpenBuilds Documentation] - note onboard supply limited to around 500mA (meant for these little 9gram servos typically used as pen lifts on a plotter) - if its a big servo rather power externally and use only SIG and GND off the BlackBox to prevent damage to BlackBox


    Use a stepper based actuator? Would be a lot easier: Linear Actuators - OpenBuilds Part Store
     
  3. redmond

    redmond New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 8, 2024
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0

    We are. We bought one from y'all. Our gantry is one of your stepper-based linear actuators. The linear actuator on the carriage is a tiny little thing about 5 inches long. None of your linear actuators would ever fit on the carriage.

    In any case our main problem is how to zero/home both sides of the Y axis.
     
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    NEMA17, one of these Nut Plate for 8mm Metric Acme Lead Screw on a short piece of 2040, and a couple Mini V-Wheels? Similar to ACRO 1010 with custom Z axis but can be made more compact if you try

    Even in the standard actuators you know - you get them in either DC or stepper. The spindle outputs might be able to do external relays (with additional circuitry they only provide logic signals, can't drive coils on a relay directly), but just better to have a stepper based axis if possible (standard Z axis, follows gcode, is in sync, drivers already there just plug it in etc)

    Or search the forum for Acro Z axis - couple cool ideas around, like Z-Axis for Laser Diode and many more
     
  5. redmond

    redmond New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 8, 2024
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    As an update to this - I've been out of town for three week and just got back to it.

    My Y2 limit switches trigger an alarm when the gantry backs *away* from them. I know there is a way to invert limit switches but I can't figure out how to do it for just one axis (Y2 is wired into Z limit as @Peter Van Der Walt suggested above).

    Ideas?
     
    #5 redmond, Jun 24, 2024
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2024
  6. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    $5=0 for NC, $5=7 for NO switches
     
  7. redmond

    redmond New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 8, 2024
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    @Peter Van Der Walt, thanks.

    Sorry to keep peppering you with questions but...

    Is there a way to have the BlackBox completely disregard the Z axis for homing? Or in there alternative, is there a command to home an axis individually? For all relevant purposes my machine is a 2-axis machine. I DO have the Y2 limit switches wired into Z though, as you suggested.

    When I try to "home all" I get a "Could not find limit switch within search distance..."
     
  8. redmond

    redmond New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 8, 2024
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Figured it out!
     
  9. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    BlackBox X32: To disable Z homing, just set set $44=3 and $45=0 in the Grbl Settings
     
  10. redmond

    redmond New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 8, 2024
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perfect. That worked. Now another issue... This is getting close though!

    I thought it was supposed to close the limit switch, then back off and re-approach very very slowly until it closed again...? Instead I get this the instant the switch closes and everything stops.

    ALARM: 6 - Homing fail. Reset during active homing cycle. [ $H ]
     
  11. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    2,760
    Likes Received:
    1,352
  12. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    Its not, it literally reset the controller.


    Looks like a wiring mistake / short shorting V+ to GND when the switch closes. The can damage the Blackbox! Check all wiring against docs docs:blackbox-x32:start [OpenBuilds Documentation] (Sections 3.4.x) or post wiring pics for review
     
  13. redmond

    redmond New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 8, 2024
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I set that to 10mm. It's not backing off the switch at all. The instant the switch closes it alarms and everything stops.
     
    #13 redmond, Jun 26, 2024
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2024
  14. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    See my reply

     
  15. redmond

    redmond New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 8, 2024
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Peter, you were correct. One of us (almost certain my coworker) incorrectly wired one of the limit switches for the Y2. Inexplicable because both the switches and the BlackBox are clearly marked.

    In any case, we’ve likely blown the Z Axis limit switch input.

    For this project I can get away without it but assuming we wanted to try to fix it, could we replace the microcontroller in the BlackBox and burn new firmware into it?

    Or is it another part that would be damaged?

    We have full PCB rework capability in-house.
     
  16. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    The inputs themselves are hard to damage are you sure? Shorting V+ to GND (causing the reset) is more likely to damage voltage regulator / cause voltage regulator to damage microcontroller. Per the symptoms thats what was wrong. Signal input can tolerate GND to 24V and anything in between, not easy to kill.

    Arte you testing with the Troubleshooting tab in CONTROL? Maybe still wired wrong, thus not detecting pressing of switch? Or it was wired so wrong the switch PCB burned traces? (Try different switch on Z port)
     
  17. redmond

    redmond New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 8, 2024
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hm. Now I'm testing with the troubleshooting tab and the Z Axis seems to work fine (same limit switch).

    But still getting the problem while homing - it hits the limit switch and throws an alarm. If I disconnect the Y2 limit switch it homes just fine.

    I do have the "Auto Squared" build burned onto the controller.
     
  18. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    Test with the standard firmware just to eliminate it?


    Still the Reset?

    How is Y2 wired?
     
  19. redmond

    redmond New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 8, 2024
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes.


    So burn the standard firmware and leave that Y2 limit switch wired into Z?
     
  20. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    Just to rule out the firmware so maybe without Y2 and with squaring firmware vs normal firmware?
    I believe its more likely wiring

    unless there are other firmware crash messages in the log
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice