Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Bcnc question

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by busybuilder, Jan 20, 2017.

1. busybuilder

Builder

Hello all,
    newbie here. Having recently completed a c-beam xl build, which is running a cnc shield , grbl 09j, dq542 drivers and bcnc on a pc running win7pro. The issue I am having and need help understanding is setting up a job.I have created just a simple job of cutting a pocket in a work piece using Fusion 360 then bring the job into bcnc. Perform a homing operation then work 0 routine on all axes. Run the job, the first thing that happens is the head returns to the home position or says soft limit error.(moves to a + X direction instead of a -X) I have zeroed to the centre of my table. If the same file is used in Chilipeper it runs without issues.
    I have tried to look at the wiki in bcnc but can not find a real good explanation of the WPOS button. I am at a loss and would appreciate any help here.Perhaps missed a step in the understanding of how it is supposed to work. A point of observation I ran the shapeoko calibration pattern file in CP it ran but all the text was mirrored, it would not run in Bcnc. Sorry for the long winded question.

2. adambrum

adambrum New
    Builder

I don't know bcnc but I had the same on a 3d printer, Sounds like your homing in the wrong direction hence the backwards text

3. Moag

Moag Veteran
    Staff Member Builder Resident Builder

G'Day @busybuilder,

I've got a different setup - Fusion 360, raspberry Pi, smoothieboard, Bcnc; but I will try to help anyway with limited knowledge.

First thing to check- are your stepper motors moving in the right direction. Move everything manually to the centre before powering up. Start Bcnc and in the Control Tab, jog a short distance + 5mm in X (should move 5mm to your right when facing the front of the machine) jog Y+ 5mm (the table should move 5mm towards you) jog Z + 5mm (Z should go up 5mm).