Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Ballscrews - Threaded or not

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by AlexHP, Jul 31, 2016.

1. AlexHP

AlexHP New
    Builder

Hi! I'm a newbie and I'm in the process of completing my first CNC design. I've decided to use ballscrews to drive my linear motion. While doing some research I ran across Threadless Ballscrews (or Rolling Ring Drives) and dug into it some more. It appears these can be used in CNC applications. One company (Amacoil) has one available that has an allowable axial thrust capacity of 450lbs. Seeing as I am new at this, I don't know if that's good or bad. I'm trying to make a CNC machine that I can use as a router, for wood and such, as well as for milling metal, like aluminum. Firstly, is this a viable component for use in the design I am working on, and secondly, is a device capable of handling 450lbs in axial force good enough for said design? Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Alex...

2. evilc66

evilc66 Journeyman
    Builder

What you need to ask yourself is, is it worth the cost?

3. Joe Santarsiero

Joe Santarsiero OB addict
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

450 is more than enough. Youd likely be okay in the 50-100lb range. You still have to go through the entire system though.
    Consider what you want to machine, the spindle and type/size of the tooling the spindle can accomodate, the tool manufacturers starting feeds and speeds suggestions, the feed forces required (and altered based on the spindle output and tool combination), then the drive system motors output at the contact surface diameter of the drive components because there's no point in having a component capable of delivering up to 450lbs of thrust with motors that'll stall out at 50lbs in action. Then you have to have the right drivers for those motors.
    This will ballpark you.