Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

anybody built a really large size 3d printer?

Discussion in '3D printers' started by Val Cocora, Feb 3, 2015.

  1. Val Cocora

    Val Cocora Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    27
    by large size i'm thinking 1 cubic meter (27 cubic feet). i am particularly referring to the challenges that might be associated with over scaling. thank you.
     
  2. Tweakie

    Tweakie OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    300
    Perhaps check out the thread "Ultimo" where Brian is using reinforced concrete for his frame - this may give you some ideas.

    Tweakie.
     
  3. dddman

    dddman Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    181
    Keep in mind that it will take forever to print and you'll have to think at a system to change filament while printing (or find someone who sells really big spools :p ). Good luck!
     
  4. Val Cocora

    Val Cocora Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    27
    thanks, tweakie, will do.
     
  5. Val Cocora

    Val Cocora Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    27
    well, such a printer would be used to print full scale models. it is to be expected such things to take time to print
     
  6. Val Cocora

    Val Cocora Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    27
    tweakie, while I did not use concrete, I reinforced my printer frame by using some large custom made brackets. also, the frame is made of 20x80 rails so as to avoid sagging, seeing how the size of the printer frame (cubic shape) is 1500 mm. on top of that, I am using the angle corner connector between them, distributed approx. 1 foot apart along said 1500 mm.
    last but not least, please advise where can I find this 'ultimo' thread', couldn't find it in '3d printers' forums. I only recently started using the forums here, so please bare with me. :)
     
  7. Val Cocora

    Val Cocora Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    27
    ddman, I believe it's possible to pause the printing for adding filament, may be wrong here.
    anyways, I will be using an all metal dual extruder (micron 3dp) so I can shoot two at a time if necessary..I believe. :)
    will know more after the first tests.
     
  8. Tweakie

    Tweakie OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    300
  9. Val Cocora

    Val Cocora Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    27

Share This Page