Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

ACRO Z-Axis modification / router brackets?

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Joel Bennett, Nov 6, 2017.

  1. Joel Bennett

    Joel Bennett Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi - I hope this is the right place for this question. I'm a huge noob but I'm going to order an ACRO system. I just have a couple questions before I order though.

    1. I noticed the z-axis is only 2.75", which will be fine for me to start, but how difficult would it be to increase this? I'm just learning about everything still, so a very basic answer is fine - as long as I know it can be done without spending too much money.

    2. I see the kit has a plate that can mount various routers, but I'm not able to find any brackets in the parts store. If I were wanting to cut exotic hard woods and acrylic, would a Dremel be sufficient? Any help in this department would be appreciated!
     
  2. Kevon Ritter

    Kevon Ritter Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    54
    The ACRO is a laser cutter that is not meant for milling. Nor does it actually have a z axis. Understand the difference between adjustment and travel.

    You can go with a C-Beam, Ox, or Sphinx.

    No a Dremel is not sufficient. A Dremel, if even powerful enough, lacks precision which leads to runout which leads to bad finishes and breaking stuff. A router will work fine, but even better is a spindle.
     
  3. Joel Bennett

    Joel Bennett Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well then...looks like I have some thinking to do :cry:
     
  4. Kevon Ritter

    Kevon Ritter Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    54
    We're here to help. Let's start with a few basic questions.

    How large of a work area do you need?
    What materials do you want to cut? Just hardwoods and acrylic?
    How thick of a material do you nee dot be able to cut?
     
  5. Joel Bennett

    Joel Bennett Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    I want to be able to cut electric guitars out. I think the C-Beam is just an inch or two less than I'd like on width, so I've put all the Ox stuff in my cart now. I'm still taking in all the info before I order it, but I'm confident I can do all of the work so far. I'd like to have something closer to 30" x 40" with a 3" z-axis - is that ridiculous? I know it's bigger than I need for a guitar, but I'd like to make sure I can handle any other project I might come up with in the future.

    I apologize for seeming stupid, but I've been interested in doing this for a long time and this site seems like the best resource around (and the prices in the parts shop are good too). So you're just going to have to deal with me for now.
     
    #5 Joel Bennett, Nov 7, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2017
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The OpenBuilds Team is dedicated helping you to Dream it - Build it - Share it! Collaborate on our forums and be sure to visit the Part Store for all your Maker needs.


    [email protected]

  • Like us on Facebook

  • Support Open Source FairShare Program!

    OpenBuilds FairShare Give Back Program provides resources to Open Source projects, developers and schools around the world. Invest in your future by helping others develop their future.

    Donate to Open Source