Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

5-Axis Foam Mill

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Brown.Tyler, Nov 18, 2019.

1. Brown.Tyler

Builder

Hello everyone,

I'm just getting started with researching what would be the best way to go about my next project. I'm looking to build a 5-axis CNC mill to work with foam stock. The ultimate goal is to fabricate aircraft structural components to assemble into a remote control aircraft.

I currently have a 3D printer and was impressed with the 5-axis head that Reiner Schmidt developed. I was thinking of printing the components to assemble the head in order to use on my CNC mill. Home Made 5-Axis CNC Head Is A Project To Watch

The world of CNC mills is rather daunting, so I am hoping to be pointed in the right direction towards some plans, as well as some material suggestions, as I imagine building for foam milling wouldn't require the same type of materials as for aluminum milling.

I would like to have a workspace of 0.75m x 1.50m x 0.50m. As for accuracy, I think +/- 1mm would be more than acceptable. Budget, I really have no idea what would be realistic for a mill of this size/capability.

All of the research I have done seeking 5-axis CNC mill plans has turned up dry. From what I've read however, a 3-axis mill could be turned into a 5-axis with some work. Am I looking for a good 3-axis CNC foam mill that I can modify to accommodate my 0.50m Z-axis dimension and mount the 5-axis head on it?

Any help would be much appreciated!

Thank you!

2. David the swarfer

David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

for most shapes you do not need 5 axis as 3 axis can cut it using a ball end mill.
    I suggest getting a Workbee or Sphinx kit and using it for a month or two before trying to 5 axis.
    My belt drive OX clone cuts foam airplane parts just fine (-:

3. Brown.Tyler

Builder

Hi David