Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

1500 mm c-beam w/ 1000 mm lead screw

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Terr, Dec 6, 2019.

1. Terr

Terr New
    Builder

I am wanting to use a 1000 mm lead screw in a 1500 mm c-beam. To do this I need a bearing mount 2/3 of the way down the beam. This must not interfere with any gantry I might select.

How can I do this? I cannot find anything in the parts store.

Note. This is my first build. I suppose I can use a belt. I think a screw might work better.

Email is fine.

2. Peter Van Der Walt

Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

For 1500mm axes, belt is recommended (long leadscrews whip around at speed)
    for 1000mm leadscrew, you need a 1000mm C-Beam. The C-Beam system suspends the leadscrew between two end plates, constained with stop-collars.

3. Terr

Terr New
    Builder

1000 is fine for the lead screw. But I need 1500 for the track. Yes I know about whipping. I prefer to not use a belt. But I may be totally wrong on this and likely will try a belt system.

4. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team

What you seek is easily achieved. Either cut down an existing C-Beam® End Mount or mill one from scratch. MiniMills are great for such a task.

short screw.jpg

Sketchup file attached.

Attached Files:

5. Terr

Terr New
    Builder

Ya. This is what I had in mind. It looks **** sweet.

Here is another thought. I am actually running 2 gantry plates carrying another beam... probably a 20x80 V-Slot. The gantry system is parallel to the main beam with a length of 500 mm. It is also fixed as in bolted to the gantry plates. Thus it will act as 2 mobile bearings?

If I can find lead screw 1500 mm long this will be preferable and at no time is any part of the lead screw exposed more than 1000 mm.

Is it possible to buy a 1500 mm lead screw? Can I order a cut down end plate?