Welcome to Our Community

Unlock hidden features. Sign Up for Free Today!

OX CNC Router

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Chefson, Feb 5, 2017.

1. Chefson

Chefson Well-Known
    Builder

Chefson published a new build:

Read more about this build...

2. Jamie Charleston

Jamie Charleston Well-Known
    Builder

Hello,
    Where did you find the stl files? I am looking for those myself. Thank you.

3. snokid

snokid Master
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

4. Chefson

Chefson Well-Known
    Builder

Thanks for the answer snokid. this is where I found them.

5. Jamie Charleston

Jamie Charleston Well-Known
    Builder

thanks, they are helping me with my prototyping my hybrid system. I have 9 ft y axis beams.

6. TonyTheToolGuy

TonyTheToolGuy Well-Known
    Builder

As a mechanical engineer, I highly recommend that you attach some open build extrusions or something similar to the exterior of your vertical plates to stiffen them.
    Even your 5mm side plates will flex notably, and since you already have your Y-stepper hanging off the side of the plate, its clearance requirements afford you significant useable width to play with. YOU SHOULD USE IT, all the width you can.
    The side plates could be "boxed" to maximize their stiffness/weight, but just bolting on a vertical extrusion to the exterior surface as in the photo below would do wonders in limiting X-deflection and vibrations. Placing some acrylic double stick tape between the side plates and the surfaces of the extrusions/beams/"angle irons"/"whatever you use" along with some hard fasteners (bolts) would be very effective at transferring the stiffening forces.