Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

z probe results differ between interface and computer.

Discussion in 'General Electronics' started by Melissa Lazar, Feb 10, 2022.

  1. Melissa Lazar

    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2022
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello, When I probe for z axis using OpenBuilds Control on computer it touches the probe plate (14.15mm thick) and lifts off 6mm for an end result of 19.15mm in z.( which is exactly what it should do ). But When I probe using the hand held interface it touches the probe lifts off ,reads 14mm in z when complete. why the difference in results between probing from the computer and the hand held interface ? I set up the probe settings with the interface plugged in via USB to the computer.
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    13,754
    Likes Received:
    4,070
    Interfaces default probe macros assumes our Probe. For custom probes you have to manually edit the probe macros on the Flashdrive (not by setting up the wizard with Interface connected as you assumed, sorry)
     
  3. Melissa Lazar

    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2022
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you, good to know. Would be real handy if it relayed the info to the interface via save settings. I would have your touch plate if it wasnt out of stock all the time. Hope I can get it soon :)
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  4. Tucstrlly

    Tucstrlly New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    7
    Peter-

    What do you need to change to make the custom values for the offset? I opened all the macro files in notepad from the USB. Do I just replace the "Z<zoffset>" with "Z5" for a plate thickness of 5mm? That works for the Z offset, but what about the X/Y locator. Those touch offs are dependent on the bit diameter. Does it look for the bit diameter in the first line of the probe screen (1/4, 1/8, etc) and apply 1/2*Dia. that to the formula? How do I calibrate to my wall thickness for the non-OB probe? Again, I would just buy yours if it were available, but looking for a work around.

    -Eric
     
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    13,754
    Likes Received:
    4,070
    For Z yes. For XY you cannot manually edit - the <placeholders> are replaced on the fly to accommodate the bit diameter. Custom probes will soon be available as a setting, for now consider getting the official OpenBuilds Probe
     
  6. Tucstrlly

    Tucstrlly New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    7
    Peter-

    For a work around for now, do I need to just pick a static cutter size (1/4") and then offset 1/2 the diameter+ wall thickness? I have a corner finder that is 3.02mm thick plate, the L shape second layer makes the offset 12mm out from the stock on the corner- both sides.
    Looking at the x,y,z probe file in the interface USB (assuming 1/4" (6.35mm) cutter) would I change the following (in GREEN):
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    ; Header
    G21 ; mm mode
    G10 P0 L20 X0 Y0 Z0 ; zero out current location
    G1 F1000

    ; Probe Z
    G1 X22.5 Y22.5 ; position to center of logo- assume cutter positioned over hole at start
    G38.2 Z-25 F100 ; Probe Z
    G4 P0.4
    G10 P0 L20 Z3.2 ; Set Z3.2 where 3.2 is thickness of plate
    G91 G21 G1 Z5 F1000 ; retract
    G90

    ; Probe X
    G1 X-50 Y10 ; position to left side and move forward a little to be closer to center of edge- moved to 50 to give more room for movement
    G91
    G1 Z-11 F1000 ; position next to plate by lowering
    G90
    G38.2 X55 F100 ; Probe X- matched pervious +5 from offset was 25 for 20 now 55 for 55
    G4 P0.4
    G10 P0 L20 X-15.175 ; set X as offset and half endmill diameter assume 6.35mm cutter and 12mm offset plate- 15.175mm total
    G91
    G1 X-2 F1000 ; retract
    G1 Z13 F1000 ; position next to plate by lowering- don't you mean raise back to new z=0 position? I raised up 2 extra mm to clear the plate
    G90

    ; Probe Y
    G1 X15 Y-50 ; position to front side and move right a little to be closer to center of edge- moved to 50 to give more room for movement
    G91 G21 G1 Z-13 F1000 ; position next to plate by lowering- moved back down to the same position as the X probe height
    G38.2 Y55 F100 ; probe Y- matched pervious +5 from offset was 25 for 20 now 55 for 55
    G90
    G4 P0.4
    G10 P0 L20 Y-15.175 ; set Y as offset and half endmill diameter assume 6.35mm cutter and 12mm offset plate- 15.175mm total
    G91 G21 G1 Y-2 F1000 ; retract
    G91 G21 G1 Z11 F1000 ; position next to plate by lowering- don't you mean raise back to new z=0 position?
    G90
    G1 X0 Y0 ; return
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Thanks
    -Eric
     
  7. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    13,754
    Likes Received:
    4,070
    Correct. Only change the <offset> fields to static values, rest of macro should be fine (to be tested)
     
  8. Tucstrlly

    Tucstrlly New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    7
    Peter-

    Thank you. I will give it a try. The Z-probe seems to work.

    Both the OB probe and the one I have have a hole for center finding. How do you set up a macro do do that? I have a 20mm hole that would center the hole on the X/Y corner of the work piece. This is the sample code I found on github, but not really sure how to make it into a macro, it doesn't run as is. It does not appear to be complete. Curious if there is a center finder solution that I haven't found yet.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    %X0=posx,Y0=posy
    G91 G38.2 Y20 F30
    %YBACK = posy
    G1 X[X0] Y[Y0]
    G91 G38.2 Y-20 F30
    %YFRONT = posy
    G1 X[X0] Y[Y0]
    G91 G38.2 X20 F30
    %XRIGHT = posx
    G1 X[X0] Y[Y0]
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The Error is:
    [11:50:50] [ ] error: 1 - G-code words consist of a letter and a value. Letter was not found. [ %X0=posx,Y0=posy ]

    [11:50:50] [ ERROR ] error: 1 - G-code words consist of a letter and a value. Letter was not found. [ %X0=posx,Y0=posy ]

    [11:50:50] [ %X0=posx,Y0=posy ] error:1
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Thanks
    -Eric
     
  9. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    13,754
    Likes Received:
    4,070
  10. Tucstrlly

    Tucstrlly New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    7
  11. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    13,754
    Likes Received:
    4,070
    Not quite on the road map, for advanced use cases like that a computer is better. INTERFACE is intended for "just run it" setups
     
    Tucstrlly likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice