Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Z-axis retracting twice when setting up a job. Is this normal?

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Mari, Feb 23, 2020.

1. Mari

Mari New
    Builder

Hi guys, CNC newbie here.

Ok so I’m only roughly setting my work zero at this point because it’s my first cut and I just want to get a feel for it. $132 is set to 26mm, this will reach the spoiler board. I move the router into position to set my work zero, the stock is 18mm and I lower the router 8mm. This actually leave the router bit a fraction above the material but like I said I’m not too fussed about that right now.

The machine returns back to the machine zero and then moves to the start point it cuts into the material as you would see it in Fusion. But before it lowers to the material it retracts again making an awful sound where it’s run out of travel upwards and then plunges into the material. My cut depth is set to 2mm per layer in Fusion, but it’s actually cut depth is approximately 10.6mm. I’m just confused to why it retracts the second time. It’s clear that the machine thinks it’s 8mm higher than it but I don’t know why.

I thought it could just be a wrong value to do with homing but I'm not sure. I don't have limit switches currently although they might be helpful. Here are my values. I hope I got the terms right, any pearls of wisdom are welcome. Thanks in advance =)

$0=10 (step pulse, usec)
    $1=255 (step idle delay, msec)
    $2=0 (step port invert mask:00000000)
    $3=6 (dir port invert mask:00000110)
    $4=1 (step enable invert, bool)
    $5=0 (limit pins invert, bool)
    $6=0 (probe pin invert, bool)
    $10=3 (status report mask:00000011)
    $11=0.010 (junction deviation, mm)
    $12=0.002 (arc tolerance, mm)
    $13=0 (report inches, bool)
    $20=0 (soft limits, bool)
    $21=0 (hard limits, bool)
    $22=0 (homing cycle, bool)
    $23=1 (homing dir invert mask:00000001)