Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Y Axis Lag

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Bigmontel, Jun 29, 2019.

  1. Bigmontel

    Bigmontel New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    23
    Can anyone explain how to fix the lag between my two Y axis’ when switching directions? It may be a bit hard to see in the video but its like both y axis’ are a half inch off or something on their screws??
    Any advice is appreciated. I’m scratching my head on this.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Bigmontel

    Bigmontel New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    23
    Black box and control are my jog tools.
     
  3. Bigmontel

    Bigmontel New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    23
    Another video
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Bigmontel

    Bigmontel New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    23
    Are my videos not working?
     
  5. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    635
    Video is working.

    Couple of things to check

    First, make sure that your gantry is square. Power off the motors close to one end. With a ruler, measure the distance from the end plate to the X gantry on both sides. If off, adjust to make square by spinning the motor coupling by hand.

    Second, double check your lock collar on the side that's lagging. Make sure its not loose.

    Let us know how it goes.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt and Bigmontel like this.
  6. Bigmontel

    Bigmontel New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    23
    Thank you, I’ll give both a try and see how that goes.
     
  7. GrayUK

    GrayUK Openbuilds Team Elder
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    617
    That "clunk", at the beginning and ending, of movement doesn't sound right. Sounds like there is play being taken up somewhere. :rolleyes:
     
    Bigmontel likes this.
  8. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,313
    Likes Received:
    1,131
    Sounds mechanical in nature to me too. Loose couplers/pulleys likely
     
    Bigmontel likes this.
  9. RV6APilot

    RV6APilot New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    22
    I had a similar problem and found that 1. I didn't have the coupler mounted to the motor correctly. Make sure the set screw is on the flat part
    of the motor shaft and 2. make sure you have all the eccentric nuts and anti-backlash blocks tighten properly. Once I did this my machine was spot
    on.
     
    #9 RV6APilot, Jun 30, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2019
    Bigmontel likes this.
  10. Bigmontel

    Bigmontel New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    23
    I’ll definitely check my couplers and blocks when i get home.
    I checked that my gantry was squared and that’s pretty much spot on.
     
  11. Bigmontel

    Bigmontel New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    23
    ok...update.
    1. I checked that I’m squared on gantry and pretty much every other angle.
    2. Pulled collars, screws, and flex couplings off Y axis. Then reinstalled.
    At this point, still getting same lag from one side with the sort of loud start and stop.
    3. Swapped connections from Y & Y2 motors at the motor connectors and now get lag on opposite side with same amount of start stop noise.
    4. Tried adjusting amps on the Y & Y2 on blackbox with no positive result.

    Even when turning off power and re-squaring the gantry once power is applied It’s a significant lag that forces my gantry to be out of square by about a quarter inch.
    The gantry rolls smooth and stays squared without the Y screws.

    Any ideas?
     
  12. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,313
    Likes Received:
    1,131
    Shoot a video so we can listen and look a little closer please :)
     
  13. Bigmontel

    Bigmontel New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    23
    I’ll take video after work today to give a better idea.
     
  14. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,313
    Likes Received:
    1,131
    Also, elaborate on how you test

    - feedrates used
    - etc

    As its impossible to 'lag' as both are literally in parallel on one signal, its something else... Just a question of what. Mechanical is most likely.
    But too high a feedrate can also skip steps
     
  15. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,313
    Likes Received:
    1,131
    Also, output of Grbl settings ($$)
     
  16. Bigmontel

    Bigmontel New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    23
    So here’s a couple short clips of my issue.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Bigmontel

    Bigmontel New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    23
    I took video of my settings Peter, pretty much standard workbee 1010 settings because I’m not experienced enough yet to know what to change.
     
  18. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    635
    For what its worth, Windows 10 cant play the video without paying for a new video codec. So, I only get audio.
     
  19. Bigmontel

    Bigmontel New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    23
    Hmm... ok. That’s almost as odd as my cnc issue.. thanks, I’ll try get a video people can actually see.
     
  20. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    635
    Maybe others can see it. I'm only telling you whats happening for me.
     
  21. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    635
    I just downloaded another video player and can see them now.

    I had the same thing happen two days ago. The sound its making is common with wiring issues. I had my axis rack, just like yours. Anyhow, I had moved my blackbox and one of the motor wires on one of the Y motors came loose (as in it pulled out a bit, but not completely out) and was arcing. I could actually see the sparks. Anyhow, check your wiring.
     
  22. Bigmontel

    Bigmontel New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    23
    Ok, good to know. So you had the noise and the weird lag issues?
    Ok, I’ll definitely give it a look. That would make sense since it changes sides when i switch motor connections.
     
  23. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    635
    Yep. And it might not be at the blackbox. It might be at the motor. It might be somewhere in between the connectors.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  24. Bigmontel

    Bigmontel New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    23
    You were spot on Sharmstr. Much appreciated.
    Took my x axis cable and used it on the laggy Y axis and it works like a champ.
    Thank you for your feedback, helped me out big time.
     
  25. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    635
    Funny enough, when it happened to me I was pretty stoked. Up until then I had told people that was their issue without having any first hand experience with it. Glad you are sorted. Now, next thing you need to do is calibrate you steps per mm. You have the default settings which are a great starting point, but you need to dial it in. Check out the wizards in the Tools and Wizards menu.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  26. Bigmontel

    Bigmontel New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    23
    I’ll definitely get more into dialing it in now that all the bugs are worked out. Thanks for the help.
     
    GrayUK and sharmstr like this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice