Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

XYZ Probe, Chassis Grounding, Shorting…

Discussion in 'General Electronics' started by integr8d, Oct 19, 2023.

1. integr8d

integr8d New
    Builder

Purchased the Probe from Openbuilds and am using on an Anolex 3020 with their 1.5kw VFD. I’ve read the threads on bad wiring and $6 options… Here’s what I’ve narrowed it down to:

I check voltage on the probe terminals on the PCB and get -5v. Placing the magnet on the spindle lead gives me, of course, -5. Testing all around the chassis gives me -5, including the bed and the Al stock that’s clamped to it.

I’m pretty new to this and I have no idea if that’s how it’s supposed to be. The hack to get it going has been to line the bottom faces of the probe with some blue painter’s tape. That keeps it from shorting and allows the code to run its cycle. But it’s not ideal.

Any thoughts?

2. Peter Van Der Walt

Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

XYZ Probe Plus with VFDs and other ground-loop inducing components

Finding and eliminating the bad wiring is key.

How are you measuring? No negative voltages uses, perhaps just have probes wrong way round. 5V pull up is normal. Measure continuity not voltage. DC GND should not be connected to AC EARTH

3. integr8d

integr8d New
    Builder

Yes, I hear you. I suppose let’s start with the basics. If I attach the 5v lead to the end mill, is it expected that the entire machine becomes energized? I’ve sent a message to Anolex for their input.

FWIW, red/black leads from the JST connector on the PCB, connected to appropriate meter probes respectively, read negative voltage. I can reverse easily enough. Ty.

4. Peter Van Der Walt

Can't directly comment on a 3rd party controller. But in our BlackBox you'd have the plate as GND, the Magnet as SIG (With a 5v pullup)
    When magnet touches plate (via collet/endmill) it closes SIG to GND

5. integr8d