Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

WorkBee 1515 Build

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Scott Iwen, Mar 30, 2020.

1. Scott Iwen

Builder

Hello,
    Total noob here, but I am doing my due diligence for a WorkBee 1515 build. I have a few questions regarding suppliers and hardware. First a little about me and my intent for the routers intended use. I am a mechanical engineer by trade with a side gig of sign making, weird, right? Ive been a part time sign maker for about 20 years now. It offers a little gray versus the black and white of engineering. As far as CNC machinery goes, none of the aspects of a CNC router are foreign to me, electrical or mechanical. I have a pretty good grasp on how the systems are integrated with each other and how it's all supposed to work. So knowing that:
    • I plan on using this for HDU foam, aluminum composite material (diabond) and wood. No plans for using it with aluminum so far.
    • I plan on building a 1515 with the intent of having capability to route longer panels in sections, i.e.4x8 sheets, but not all the time. Just giving myself some options if the opportunity arises.
    • I have decided to use Centroid Acorn for the motion control duties
    • I would prefer screw drive (with x axis lead screws in tension) over belt drive for greater resolution and accuracy.
    • I would like to drive the axes with servo motors
    • I do plan on using a VFD driven spindle.
    Here are a few questions I am just going to throw out there to start with: