Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Workbee 1010 stopping randomly in a job

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Icefox20, Mar 2, 2019.

  1. Icefox20

    Icefox20 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hey All

    I'm a Newbe when it comes to CNC, we have brought a workbee 1010 for my wife's Online biz and we have set it up got it cutting ...BUT... randomly in a job it will just stop moving, not always the same spot does it stop so i can't see a pattern , I press pause and start again and off it goes but after 3 times of doing this it just stops wanting to go and I have to force it to stop everything and home it.

    I'm not sure why it's doing this was thinking it was the home switches tripping with the rattling etc but that doesn't seem to be it, I'm at the end of my "lead rope" with it and I need help

    if anyone has ideas that would be great I'm not at home while writing this so once I do ill upload the gcode and Vcarve file to looking.

    thanks in advance

    Scott
     
  2. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    613
    Are you getting good airflow over the controller? If the DRV8825 chips get too hot they can go into thermal shutdown.
     
    #2 Giarc, Mar 2, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2019
    Icefox20 likes this.
  3. Dmhaes

    Dmhaes Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    19
    Make sure your fan is working, and maybe try another usb cable.
     
    Icefox20 likes this.
  4. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    345
    What control setup are you using @Icefox20.
    Alex.
     
    Icefox20 likes this.
  5. Icefox20

    Icefox20 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    Awesome thank you guys ill have alook in the morning about the fan and maybe a new usb

    By controller setup do you mean the board?? @Alex Chambers
     
  6. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    345
    Yes, and software and connection method (usb, ethernet, WiFi?) Alex.
     
    #6 Alex Chambers, Mar 3, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2019
    Icefox20 likes this.
  7. Icefox20

    Icefox20 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    @Alex Chambers its a xPro V3 (GRBL V1.1) its by USB and the software im using is the openbuilds control. thanks
     
  8. Colin Hart

    Colin Hart Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    24
    I had a similar problem... The plug in the wall was not pushed in fully.. yes a schoolboy error but this was the root cause for my issue.
     
  9. Icefox20

    Icefox20 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    So ive done some testing and the vfd and spindle turned off it does an air cut without stopping..... any ideas from anyone ??
     
  10. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    345
    Interference? Have a look at how your cables are routed to see if you can keep your spindle cables away from others.
    Alex.
     
  11. Icefox20

    Icefox20 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks to all moving the spindles power cables has done the trick yahhhh. Ive made an arm to keep it above the cnc see photo :)

    Any ideas why i would be getting chipping on the cut outs tho ?? See 2nd photo . Im guessing it might be blunt cutter?? 20190306_213032.jpg 20190306_213032.jpg 20190306_213459.jpg
     
  12. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    345
    What cutters are you using? Unless I need a really small diameter bit I use router bits for cutting wood. Up-cutting milling bits would tend to damage the top edge of a cut. Even a sharp bit can occasionally chip a bit out of wood - it depends on how the tree grew. In your example it would be difficult to do this, but you can minimise chipping if the cutting edge cuts INTO the edge of the wood rather than OUT of it.
    Alex.
     
    Icefox20 likes this.
  13. Icefox20

    Icefox20 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for that can you recommend a bit so i get an idea of what im buying please thanks :)
     
  14. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    345
    Not knowing where you are based it is a bit difficult to recommend a specific bit. I tend to use cheap router bits from the likes of screwfix and Toolstation in the UK and replace them as soon as they start getting blunt. I find this is more cost effective than more expensive bits which don't last that much longer to justify the extra cost. Cleaning bits often (use solvent to clean off any resin buildup) will keep them sharp for longer.
    Alex.
     
    GrayUK and Icefox20 like this.
  15. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    613
    Icefox20 likes this.
  16. Icefox20

    Icefox20 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
  17. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    613
    I cut in from the top. On harder materials I ramp in from the top. On HDPE plastic, which is what I have used it on the most, I just plunge from the top as seen in the video down the page here: Adjustable Rod Holder Track Mount For Fishing
     
  18. Christian James

    Christian James Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    20
    Yes, important question Icefox because some straight flute bits do not have a full cutting edge across the tip - those are side entry only. Giarc is using one which has a full cutting edge on the tip so it can plunge down into the work.
     
    Icefox20 likes this.
  19. Icefox20

    Icefox20 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    Awesome thanks everyone for all the advice its going to make CNC cutting a lot easier with help like this :)
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice