Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

White screen

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by William Harper, May 2, 2019.

  1. William Harper

    William Harper Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello all, I just loaded a large g-code and the screen went white on the controller page. I had started the project and it continued to run but I could no see the 3D window to watch it or stop the project. Any thoughts?
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    688
    1) which controller software are you running?
    2) where is the gcode from? (what application do you use for CAM, which post processor, etc)
    3) maybe submit the file too so we can test with it too
     
  3. William Harper

    William Harper Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Running 1.0.162. gcode is from carbide create. I'm running a Lead Machine with Spark Concepts x pro
     
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    688
    Post the gcode file please - use the Upload button below the text entry box. ZIP it first (helps with size and filetype) before uploading
     
  5. William Harper

    William Harper Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
     
  6. William Harper

    William Harper Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm not very good at this hope it works.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    338
    That's a pretty big file. Behind the scenes, Control is throwing a "Paused before potential out-of-memory crash" message.

    No need to respond to this. Just talking to myself since I havent seen that before and giving myself a way to search for that message next time it comes up months from now. Peter will respond with something meaningful.
     
  8. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    688
    I had to try four different Gcode viewers before I could finally even see what it is! It crashed all three different ones I tried, eventually got it to preview in CAMotics.

    I think the issue here is more workflow: It looks like you are doing a massive pocket with a very small endmill

    I would break this job into 3 phases:

    1. Outside Cut of the letters with a smallish endmill
    2. Inside cut of the Perimeter with a smallish endmill
    3. Pocket to remove the rest (but using a decent size endmill or router bit like a 1/2 inch as thats a lot of of material to remove with such a small but, not only leading to unruly large gcode, but also will be a very long cut!
     

    Attached Files:

    David the swarfer likes this.
  9. William Harper

    William Harper Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks I'll give it a try.
     
  10. dlhoulton

    dlhoulton Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    10
    I'm getting "White Screen" while trying to run a 3D file. This project has four separate files to run. 1st is the 3D roughing pass. 2nd is the 3D finishing pass. 3rd will be the Vcarve text. 4th will be the cut out pass. I have only been able to get the 1st job to run (3Droughing pass). That worked great. The problem is when I try to load the 2d job which is the 3D finishing pass the program (OpenBuilds Control) in the 3D View has the little icon animated and reads "Rendering, please wait" then all of a sudden the screen goes WHITE!!. Very frustrating!!. Everything freezes at this point and all I can do is close OpenBuilds Control. If I try to open OpenBuilds control it goes straight to "White Screen". I then have to reboot my computer and then OpenBuilds will reload. I then can load the 1st, 3rd and 4th job passes and all will load but if I try to load the 2nd (3D finishing) job the screen goes WHITE!. It's a large job created in Vcarve Pro (latest version). I'm running the latest version of OpenBuilds Control. As a matter of fact just before starting this project OpenBuilds Control wanted to "update" itself. My machine is a Workbee 1010. I control the workbee with the Xcarve controller reloaded with the latest Grbl from OpenBuilds. Everything has been running very smooth and have had no problems with other vcarve projects. Just this first 3D project created in Vcarve Pro.
     
  11. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    688
    Large Gcode files causes issues on PCs with insufficient resources
    At this time there is no magical fix.
    Lowering resolution of the gcode, or using a different host (bcnc, cncjs, etc) are the options
     
  12. dlhoulton

    dlhoulton Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    10
    Not sure what you mean by "PCs with insufficient resources". My PC is a new desktop with a processor (GHz and RAM) that exceeds the requirements needed to run VCarve Pro. The only thing on this PC is Windows 10 and Vcarve Pro and OpenBuilds Control. The file that I'm trying to run/carve is an 11MB file. What do you mean by "Lowering resolution of the gcode"?
     
  13. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    688
    Internally the 3D viewer has quite a lot it has to do:
    Each line of gcode ends up as a vertex object, which has a position vector, a material, data to use for the Simulator, modal parsed data, and a host of other JS and WebGL 3D data to it. Chrome only allows somewhere between 2-3gb of ram allocation before it crashes. WebGL objects get big quick! As such, like I said, sorry. If the file is too big (a 300,000 line gcode file could balloon to a 4gb 3D Object) it will crash. Use bCNC or CNCJs when you find files thats too big, as they aren't focussed on Beginners like CONTROL does, they can handle them a little bettwe
     
    #13 Peter Van Der Walt, Jun 14, 2019 at 7:54 AM
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2019 at 10:52 AM
  14. dlhoulton

    dlhoulton Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    10
    I looked at bCNC and I'm not sure how to install it. I'm very new and don't understand most of these programs. Is bCNC something I can just download from "GitHub", install it and go or will I have to set up machine settings like I did when I installed OpenBuilds Control? Of the two that you mentioned bCNC and CNCjs, which would be most perfered with a Windows 10 and the Xcontroller running the latest Grbl from OpenBuilds Control setup?
     
  15. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    688
    Well, if you have difficulty with bCNC (See vlachoudis/bCNC for install instructions) then CNCJS might be easier for you (Download either the 32bit or 64 bit exe from cncjs/cncjs as appropriate to your pc)

    Machine setup is saved to the firmware on the controller = once off setup

     
  16. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    688
    Can you upload the finishing pass gcode file for me here? Would help to have more of those large test files on hand to see what can be optimised in future versions of the software
     
  17. dlhoulton

    dlhoulton Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    10
    Sure thing. Hope you can make it so that OpenBuilds Control can run large files. I was able to run it using some software that came with VCarve Pro.
     

    Attached Files:

    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  18. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    688
    (; Oh you bet its coming.

    As we started selling Vectric products this past weekend, I can finally spend the time to fix this old bug. (; initial test code looks great, can render a 600k line gcode in under 20 seconds (; - and my PC dates from 2012!
     
  19. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    688
    (;

    side.PNG

    1.PNG
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  20. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    688
    v1.0.178 and up :) head over to software.openbuilds.com to download
     
  21. dlhoulton

    dlhoulton Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    10
    On occasion when I open Control software it want's to upgrade. Is that just bug fixes or is it upgrading the whole Control software?
     
  22. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    688
    Its 'as a whole' which includes the Fixes. Its best to stay up to date, as the whole ecosystem evolves, it just gets better all the time!

    You can check the changelog on the Troubleshooting tab to see whats changed (Changelog is also on Git and on the software.openbuilds.com pages)

    If you wanna skip, you can cancel on the Serial Console tab (10 second countdown prior to download once GUI opens)

    There may be plenty of updated but thats just because we rapidly make this better than it already is! :)
     
    #22 Peter Van Der Walt, Jun 17, 2019 at 4:26 PM
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2019 at 4:56 PM

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice