Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Where to start - router CNC build

Discussion in 'CNC Lathes' started by TheMinimaliiiist, Apr 4, 2024.

1. TheMinimaliiiist

Builder

Hi guys,

I am Martin, 37, business owner from France. I would like to build my own router CNC machine as well as a router CNC lathe to be used for small to medium scale productions for my business.

I have a background of engineering as I have a Msc in mechanical design engineering, 10+ years working in various industries and 5+ years manufacturing my own parts. I owned a Stepcraft D840/2 CNC for a while but was really disapointed.

My biggest issue is I don't know where to start. I can surely design a machine, but I don't know the do's and don'ts, what are the key elements to consider, how to dimensions components properly, etc.

I know I want my machines to be able to be use on a production level, running about 30h a week. I need precision, repetability as well as reliability.

Is there any wiki or resources I can check to learn more about custom built CNC ?

Thanks !

2. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

While our first suggestion will always be one of our well designed systems like OpenBuilds LEAD CNC Machine 1515 (60" x 60") I understand your desire to create your own system. Foremost would be coming to an understanding of what you intend to use it for. Oversizing a system is one of the greatest mistakes you can make. The larger a system gets the less rigid it is and rigidity is key in the quality of the cuts the system makes and the speed in which it will operate. You’ll notice the LEAD systems are intentionally kept low in the X/Z axes. And the dual beam X-axis adds rotational resistance to the Z-axis creating additional stiffness at the tool head.