Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Where is the best place on the forums if I am just getting started with my first CNC router build?

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by SeanD, Apr 2, 2019.

1. SeanD

SeanD Well-Known
    Builder

I have (probably naively) started purchasing parts for my first CNC router. I have a mate who has a wood based DIY setup that he purchased 2nd hand a few years back and I helped him rewire and rebuild. I caught the bug. I need a machine of my own. I understand a lot of the functionality of the machines now as I have a background in computers and some electronics so it was pretty straight forward for me. The problem is that I have jumped in head first and don't know some of the critical points I need to specifically for building my own specifically where it will differ from my mate's machine.

Is there a good place on the forums to post what I have planned out and get some input on it? I have specific questions about wiring cooling fans and if the components I have ordered are sufficient. Also I know that people on these forums seem super helpful, but am I asking too much if asking for advice on my entire setup? Any tips on posting to the forums would be really appreciated.

2. Alex Chambers

Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

1 change the title of the thread so people know what you are asking about.
    2 start us off with a sketch of what you are trying to achieve.
    I think you will find you get a lot of interest and (helpful ? ) suggestions. :):thumbsup:

SpringBob and SeanD like this.
  3. Alex Chambers

Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

Also well worth while browsing through the builds section to see if anyone has done something similar.
    Alex ;)

SeanD likes this.
  4. SeanD

SeanD Well-Known
    Builder